The Law Enforcement Officer Safety Act (LEOSA) authorizes qualified retired law enforcement officers to carry a concealed firearm under certain conditions. The Training Division and Human Resources Department determine eligibility. The individual must meet the minimum standards:
- Served as a certified law enforcement officer (deputy sheriff) for a minimum of 10 years
- Separated from service in good standing
- Reside in the State of Wisconsin
Some Changes for This Year
To receive certification, a qualified retiree must complete the following forms and pay $20:
Individuals are not required to complete their firearms qualification at this agency. They may complete the State-approved handgun qualification at any approved institution and provide the State-mandated qualification form with the above forms.
Individuals who have retired within the last year, successfully qualified, and wish to be certified with the same off-duty weapon that was approved by the Training Division while a member of the Sheriff's Office, do not have to complete the firearms qualification course upon retirement.
Individuals who wish to complete their qualification at the MCSO Training Academy must schedule an appointment for range time and pay an additional $40.They must complete this additional form: Risk Waiver.
- Monday, Aug. 8, 2022
- Thursday, Sept. 8, 2022
- Friday, Oct. 7, 2022
- Monday, Nov. 7, 2022
- Wednesday, Dec. 7, 2022
Call (414) 525-5710 to schedule qualification.
Mail or deliver in person all completed forms to:
Milwaukee County Sheriff's Office Training Academy
9225 South 68th Street
Franklin, WI 53132
* All forms require signatures and/or notary; therefore, they will not be accepted electronically.
Qualified retirees will be notified by email (if provided) or by telephone of the status of their application for certification. The applicant is responsible for understanding all content contained within the Law Enforcement Safety Act, the Milwaukee County Sheriff's Office Law Enforcement Safety Act Certification Policy and Procedure, and relevant Wisconsin State Statutes pertaining to the carrying and use of firearms.