Due to Governor Evers' SAFER AT HOME EMERGENCY ORDER and guidance from Milwaukee County Health Officials, the County Clerk's Office is closed to the public until further notice.
Marriage License Applications - We have implemented a virtual marriage license application process. Marriage licenses will be issued virtually between 9 a.m. and 3 p.m. In accordance with Chapters 765.09(3)(a) and 765.12(2) and due to current circumstances involving Covid-19, related travel restrictions, and public safety, we are not processing marriage applications for out-of-state residents.
- To apply virtually, you will need a mobile device or computer capable of video conferencing and printer capability.
- You must apply together and have the following documents:
- Government issued certified birth certificate (original, no copies)
- Photo ID
- Proof of Milwaukee County residency (Wisconsin driver's license or state I.D., utility bill, bank or credit card statement, or lease agreement)
- Each applicant must provide their Social Security number if they have one.
- If you were previously married, a filed copy of the final judgment of divorce, a certified divorce certificate, legal annulment, or certified death certificate, whichever ended the last marriage.
- You must provide the name, address and telephone number of the officiant performing the wedding ceremony.
- To schedule a time to apply, call (414) 278-4275 and we will contact to you to make arrangements.
Marriage License Already Applied For - If you need your marriage license mailed, call (414) 278-4275. Leave a message including both applicant names, the address you would like the license sent to, phone number and wedding date. We will mail it to you within 24 hours.
Courthouse Weddings - Courts have cancelled all courthouse weddings through May 15; however, we will extend the expiration date of your existing license and reschedule as needed.
How to Apply for a Marriage License
Wisconsin residents must apply before the county clerk of the county in which either applicant is a resident. The license issued in that county may be used anywhere in the State of Wisconsin.
Non-Wisconsin residents must apply in the county in which they are to be married.
To hear a detailed voice recording of requirements, call (414) 278-4070.
Wisconsin State Statute for Marriage, Chapter 765
Open AllClose All
Where to Apply
Marriage license applications may be completed Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. in the Office of the Milwaukee County Clerk, County Courthouse - Room 105, 901 North 9th Street, Milwaukee.
When to Apply
A wedding date must be set prior to application. The marriage license application must be completed at least seven days but not more than 30 days before the wedding date. The license is valid for 30 days upon the issuance date
How Much Does It Cost
The marriage license fee is $110 payable at the time of filing an application and is non-refundable. We accept cash and credit/debit cards. There is a convenience fee of 3% for all credit/debit card transactions. Personal checks are not accepted.
If you are scheduled for a civil ceremony at the courthouse, the $100 ceremony fee is payable at the time of filing an application and is non-refundable.
Who May Marry
The minimum age to marry is 18. Applicants who are 16 or 17 must have both parents' consent or the consent of their legal guardian. A consent form must be completed, signed and notarized. This form is available in the Office of the County Clerk.
No marriage shall be contracted between persons who are nearer of kin than second cousins, except that marriage may be contracted between first cousins where the female has attained the age of 55 years or either party has documented proof of sterilization.
When Can I Pick It Up
Your marriage license will be available seven days from the date you applied. Either applicant can pick up the license in person with valid photo identification Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. in the Office of the Milwaukee County Clerk, County Courthouse - Room 105, 901 N. 9th St. Milwaukee.
If you are having a civil ceremony at the courthouse, you should arrive to the building 30 minutes prior to your scheduled time to pick up the marriage license. You will then be directed to the courtroom for your ceremony.
The Marriage License, a Norman Rockwell painting, appeared on the cover of the Saturday Evening Post, June 11, 1955.
The couple must apply together in person.
Each applicant must show photo ID such as a valid driver's license.
Each applicant must bring in a certified birth certificate. A certified birth certificate is one that has been issued by a government agency. Birth certificates that are torn, taped, laminated, or unlegible are not acceptable. Photocopies, "certificates of birth" issued by hospitals, and "birth registrations" are not acceptable.
Each applicant must provide their Social Security number if they have one.
One applicant must show proof of residency with a current Milwaukee County address. Examples of proof of residence include: Wisconsin driver's license or state I.D.; utility bill; bank or credit card statement; or lease agreement.
If you were previously married, a filed copy of the final judgment of divorce, a certified divorce certificate, legal annulment or certified death certificate that ended the last marriage must be shown at the time of application. In Wisconsin it is unlawful for any person to marry until six months after the date of the granting of a judgment of divorce, regardless of where the divorce was granted.
You must provide the name, address and telephone number of the officiant performing the wedding ceremony.
Any document not in English must be attached to a certified and notarized translation. Both applicants must speak and be able to read English. Applicants may not translate for each other. The applicant must provide a translator.
For clarification of any information provided, call (414) 278-4067.
Civil Ceremonies at the Courthouse
Civil ceremonies are performed at the Milwaukee County courthouse, Monday through Friday, by appointment only. The fee for civil ceremonies is $100 payable at the time of application for the marriage license and is non-refundable. To schedule or cancel an appointment, call (414) 278-4067. We encourage you to schedule the date and time as soon as possible as dates and times fill quickly, particularly if you want a Friday ceremony.
For a list of officiants who perform wedding ceremonies at locations other than the courthouse, you can: