County Executive
  • Refine Search

  • All Results

May 7, 2024

Milwaukee County Youth Commission Calls for Applications for 2025 Term


MILWAUKEE – Milwaukee County Executive David Crowley and Milwaukee County Board Chairwoman Marcelia Nicholson are announcing that applications are being accepted from local high school students to serve on the Milwaukee County Youth Commission for the 2025 Term.

In 2022, County Executive Crowley and Chairwoman Nicholson co-authored a resolution to revive the Youth Commission, which was adopted unanimously by the Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors. The Youth Commission works in partnership with the County Executive and County Board Chairwoman to make advisory recommendations about policy and budgetary decisions to the Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors, and to advance Milwaukee County’s mission of achieving racial equity.


“I remember discovering my passion for youth leadership and civic engagement at a young age, and it’s why I collaborated with Chairwoman Nicholson to revive the Youth Commission. These young leaders are working to advance the interests of our youth, make their voices heard on policy and budgetary decisions, and advance our shared vision of achieving racial equity,” said County Executive Crowley. “I am encouraging high school students across Milwaukee County to apply and serve on the Milwaukee County Youth Commission, so the next generation of young leaders can help shape our shared priorities and bright future.”


“We're thrilled to announce the opening of applications for the 2025 term of the Milwaukee County Youth Commission,” said Chairwoman Nicholson. “Our youth are the future leaders of our community, and their voices are invaluable in shaping policies that promote equity. High school students in Milwaukee County, apply now!”


Milwaukee County is accepting applications for the following open Youth Commission districts: 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 14, 15, 16, 17, and 18. To be eligible, Commissioners must reside in Milwaukee County, be between age 14-18 (as of January 1, 2025), and be actively attending high school. Freshmen, sophomores, and juniors in the 2024-25 school year are the target grades. Individuals who are interested can look up their district here.

Mia Moore and Loren Muwonge serve as the Co-Chairs of the 2024 Youth Commission, having been appointed by Chairwoman Nicholson and County Executive Crowley, respectively. Co-Chairs Moore and Muwonge strongly encourage eligible youth in the open districts to apply, saying, “Serving on the Youth Commission is a once in a lifetime experience to influence resources, programs, and services that directly impact youth in our communities. We have accomplished a great deal in the past year and look forward to welcoming new members in 2025 to continue this important work.”


Applications can be submitted at The application submission deadline is 11:59 p.m. on Friday, September 27, 2024.




(414) 278-4211 | fax: (414) 223-1375
Milwaukee County Courthouse, Room 306
901 N. 9th Street | Milwaukee, WI 53233

This site is powered by the Northwoods Titan Content Management System



Looking for Milwaukee County Services?

Visit Milwaukee County