Is there a cost for child support services?
There is no fee. However, a fee may be charged for some specialized child support services.
Are there fees for interstate cases?
Other states may charge a fee for enforcing a case in their state The other state sets the fee and may charge either parent. The interstate unit will contact you if you need to pay any of these fees.
Learn More About Fees
How long does it take for support to be paid when a new income withholding notice is sent?
Payments should begin in two to four weeks. This amount of time allows for mailing the income withholding (IW) notice to the employer, payroll processing and mailing of the payment to the Wisconsin Support Collections Trust Fund (WI SCTF).
Absent parents should begin making payments directly to WI SCTF until money is deducted from their paychecks.
Payments can be mailed to: WI SCTF, Box 74200, Milwaukee, WI 53274-0200
If you do not receive payments within 30 days of the date an income withholding notice was sent, contact customer service.
When should I contact the Wisconsin Support Collections Trust Fund (WI SCTF) regarding payments?
In the State of Wisconsin, payments are processed by the Wisconsin Support Collection Trust Fund (WI SCTF).
If you know your personal identification number (PIN), you can access information about the last two payments you made or received by calling (800) 991-5530, (877) 209-5209 toll free TDD or by logging onto the state website. You should contact the WI SCTF to see if a payment has been issued to you or a payment was applied to your account.
I don't think that all of my payments have been reflected on my case. What can I do?
If you think that a payment you made was not applied to your case you should order the payment record for the year in which the missing payment was made.
Match your copies of the payments you made (check stubs, canceled checks, etc.) to the payment record.
If you find that a payment you made is not shown on your account, you should send a letter to the department stating that a payment is missing. You must include a copy of the front and back of the canceled check or copies of your check stubs as proof that the payment was made.
Your letter will be investigated and your account will be corrected if the payment was received but misapplied.
How do I order payment records?
You may receive your payment records free online by creating a child support online account or (if already registered) logging in to your child support online account.
You may request your payment records by calling the KIDS Information Line (800) 991-5530 toll free outside the Metro Milwaukee area or (877) 209-5209 toll free TDD.
You can order payment records by letter or by walking into room 101 of the Department of Child Support Services. Your letter should include your name, court case number, the years for which you are requesting records and payment in full of our record fee.
The fee for records is $15 per case/per year. You should also tell us whether you wish to pick up the records or have them mailed to you (in which case you should include your current address).
How do I read payment records?
Instructions for reading the payment records will be sent to you with your payment records.
What is the R&D fee and why do I have to pay it?
Under Wisconsin law, the receipting and disbursing (R&D) fee is the state’s charge for maintaining the payment record on a family case.
The fee is $65 per year for any case that has child support, family support, maintenance, birthing or medical obligations as well as the arrears (missed payments). The court-ordered payer on the case must pay the annual fee.
What do I do if I have a support order but now my child receives social security benefits based upon my disability or retirement?
You may file a motion with the Family Cout Commissioner's Office to adjust your support order or you may apply for review and adjustment services in our Department.
I have a notice of lien. What do I do?
Your notice tells you your options to contest the lien:
- You can request that the department conduct a financial record review. You must make this request within 10 business days of the date of the notice; and/or
- You can request a court hearing. You must make this request within 20 business days of the date of the notice. In Milwaukee County, you may make these requests by contacting customer service by telephone (414) 615-2593, fax (414) 223-1865 or e-mail, or by visiting Room 101 of the courthouse.
How can I collect back child support?
Support arrears are most frequently colleted through the tax refund intercept program or by a court order for monthly payments on arrears. It may also be possible to collect past-due support through a varriety of adimistrative enforcement measures, such as:
What is the fee for tax intercept service?
The parent receiving a tax refund intercept must pay 10% of any collection of $10 or more, but not more than $25. The amount is taken out of the intercepted refund.
The absent parent has other cases. How much money will I get from tax intercept?
The Department of Child Support Services never knows how much the absent parent’s refund will be. We can only tell the amount of arrears that were certified for tax intercept purposes.
Federal law mandates the manner in which tax intercept money is distributed. Currently federal tax intercept collections will first pay state owed debts. Effective October 1, 2009, federal tax intercept will pay out to the families first in the same hierarchy that is used to distribute State tax payments.
State tax intercept money will go to the family first. State tax intercept money is distributed first to current support then arrears.
If there is more than one family involved, the payment will be pro-rated between the cases and the money will first pay current support. If all families have a current support order, the payment will be pro-rated between all cases.
I am making payments on my child support arrears. Why are my taxes still being intercepted?
Under state and federal law, once arrears have been certified for tax intercept, they remain certified and refunds will be intercepted until the outstanding amounts are paid in full, even if payments are being made.
I am married and my spouse's refund is being intercepted for my child support arrears because we filed a joint tax return. Can this be prevented?
Your spouse should contact the IRS and file an "injured spouse" claim. Any and all issues relating to the injured spouse claim need to be handled through the IRS .
Has an intercepted tax refund been paid on my arrears yet?
You can get tax intercept collection information online or, you may call the Trust Fund at (800) 991-5530 or (877) 209-5209 toll free TDD.
I don't believe I owe the arrears for which my tax refund is being intercepted. Can I get a court hearing to stop the intercept?
You have a right to a hearing on the tax intercept issue, but you must request a hearing within 20 days of receiving notice of the tax refund intercept.
You can request a hearing by walking into our office in Room 101 of the Milwaukee County Courthouse and picking up a hearing request form, or calling (414) 615-2593 and asking us to mail you a form.
I have been notified that my sate or federal educational grant will not be released to me unless I get a letter from the child support agency. What do I do?
Contact the child support agency and ask to enter into an alternative payment plan.
Is there a fee if I want to change my order?
Clerk of Circuit Court charges a modification fee. You must pay the Clerk's $30 modification fee in order to file a modification motion to change your order. This fee may be waived if the court finds that you are unable to pay. (There is no fee if an agreement to change the order is signed by both parents.)
My child has graduated from high school. Wow do I stop my support order?
Your child support order will terminate on the last day of the month of the child’s 18th birthday, or high school graduation date, whichever is later.
If your child graduates after his or her 18th birthday, the department must be provided a letter from the high school on school letterhead stating the date of graduation to stop the order effective the date of graduation.
Child support orders will not extend beyond a child’s 19th birthday, even if the child is still in high school.
My child is over the age of 19. Why am I still receiving billing statements?
You may still owe arrears, costs or interest on your case. You will continue to receive billing statements until your debts are paid in full.
I was ordered to pay child support in a paternity case, but the mother and I have now married. How do I stop the support order?
Provide the department with a certified copy of your marriage certificate.
We will ask the Family Court Commissioner's Office to stop the support order.
You will still be obligated to pay any arrears, costs, fees, expenses and debts owed to the State of Wisconsin that were charged to your case prior to the marriage. If arrears are owed to the mother, she may provide us with a notarized statement asking that those arrears be canceled.
I no longer want to receive enforcement services from the department. Wow do I refuse service?
You may withdraw your application for child support services so long as you do not receive W-2, Child Care, CTS, BadgerCare Plus, Substitute Care and Kinship Care.
This will remove the case from Lien Docket, Credit Bureau and Tax Intercept. Contact us at (414) 615-2593 or stop in our office and request a "Withdrawal from Services" form.
The removal of enforcement services does not stop existing court orders.
I no longer want to receive child support from the other parent. How can I stop my child support order?
You can only stop your child support order if you do not receive public benefits, including W-2, Child Care, BadgerCare Plus, Substitute Care, Kinship Care and Caretaker Supplement.
If you do not receive public benefits, you may sign a Stipulation and Order form with the other parent and send it to the Family Court Commissioner in Room 707 for approval.
Stipulation and Order forms may be downloaded, picked up in the Child Support Office room 101 or Family Court Commissioner's Office room 707 of the Courthouse.
My parental rights were terminated at a Children's Court hearing. Why am I still receiving billing statements?
You must provide the Department of Child Support Services with a copy of the order terminating your parental rights for the current support obligation on your case to be stopped.
You will continue to be responsible for any arrears, costs, and interest on your case that accrued before your parental rights were terminated.
You will receive billing notices until all debts are paid in full.