Nature Nauts: Kids Program at Wehr Nature Center

 Bookmark and Share

 

 

 


NatureNauts
Ages 4–6

Must be accompanied by an adult.
 

You and your preschooler will join others as a naturalist guides you through special topics, crafts and outdoor activities.

 

2014 NatureNauts Programs - Subject to change

Date   Program
Sun, Jan. 5, 1-2 p.m.
or
Mon, Jan. 6, 9:30-10:30
 

Snowflakes
Discover how those fluffy swirly snowflakes affect plants, animals, and people. We will explore Wehr’s snowy winterscape as we make tracks, look for clues to winter animals and make a snowflake craft.


Sun, Feb. 9, 1-2 p.m.
or
Mon, Feb. 10, 9:30-10:30
 

Little Stinkers (Skunks)
Join us as we sing the “skunk song” and learn about the secret lives of these smelly neighbors. Make a craft skunk and take a short walk in search of skunk clues.


Sun, March 9, 1-2 p.m.
or
Mon, March 10, 9:30-10:30
 

Maple Magic
Come learn about sap, sugar, and syrup from the Wisconsin State Tree – the Sugar maple. Enjoy the story, Maggie the Maple Tree, and visit the Sugarbush.  Enjoy a maple syrup treat after our walk.


Sun, April 13, 1-2 p.m.
(no Monday program)
 

Ladybugs
Ladybugs are beautiful, sometimes pesky, but always helpful insect neighbors.  Enjoy a Ladybug puppet show and then go in search these colorful beetles.  NatureNauts will make and take home a craft ladybug. 
 

Sun, May 18, 1-2 p.m.
(no Monday program)
 

All Quacked Up (Ducks)
Ducks do more than go “Quack.” Discover how Ducks are adapted to their watery world. Enjoy a short walk as we look for our duck friends and then make a craft duck.

Sun, June 22, 1-2 p.m.
(no Monday program)
 

Wild Woodpeckers
Woodpeckers are amazing and hardworking birds. Discover which woodpeckers live near you. We'll go outside to see Woodpecker handiwork too. Enjoy a woodpecker craft to take home.

Sun, July 13, 1-2 p.m.
or
Mon, July 14, 9:30-10:30
 

Super Snakes
Sneak a peek at real live snakes and learn some silly superstitions surrounding them. Slither over to Wehr to learn why snakes are super.

Sun, Aug. 24, 1-2 p.m.
(no Monday program)
 

Grasshoppers
Grasshoppers are Great!  NatureNauts will catch grasshoppers, have a grasshooper race, and make their own craft grasshopper. See and touch real live grasshoppers.

Sun, Sept. 21, 1-2 p.m.
or
Mon, Sept. 22, 9:30-10:30
 

Jumping Grasshoppers
Can you out jump a grasshopper? Have you ever seen a grasshopper spit? NatureNauts will learn about these amazing insect athletes, go on a grasshopper hunt, participate in a grasshopper jump-off and enjoy a grasshopper story and craft.

Sun, Oct. 26, 1-2 p.m.
or
Mon, Oct. 27, 9:30-10:30
 

Seed Safari
Seeds stick, pop and fly! We'll read "Planting the Wild Garden" by Kathyrn Galbraith and then Naturenauts will go on a seed safari walk to collect seeds of all sorts. We'll use our treasures to make collage art.

Sun, Nov. 9, 1-2 p.m.
or
Mon, Nov. 10, 9:30-10:30
 

Little Honkers (Geese)
Why do geese fly south for the winter? It’s too far to walk! Discover the secrets of Canada Geese and make a goose craft the “honks.” Be prepared for a short walk in search of geese.

Sun, Dec. 14, 1-2 p.m.
or
Mon, Dec. 15, 9:30-10:30
 

Bear Cubs
Become bear cubs as we learn all about Black Bears. We will read "We Are Bears" by Molly Grooms, find out what bears eat for lunch and go on an imaginary (teddy) bear hunt!

 

Registration Deadline: one week prior to program. Call to register: (414) 425-8550

 Nature Nauts 2014 Fees  (non-refundable)
 Child, Non-Milwaukee County Resident  $10
 Child, Milwaukee County Resident  $7
 Child, Friend of Wehr  $5

For more information, contact the Wehr Nature Center. 

 


Homeschool Associations: You may be interested in additional field-trip opportunities

 

 


Questions? Contact Us
Wehr Nature Center
9701 W. College Ave., Franklin, WI 53132
(414) 425-8550

 

This site is powered by the Northwoods Titan Content Management System