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CRIME VICTIM 
COMPENSATION PROGRAM 
APPLICATION INFORMATION 

 
 
An application may be filed by, or on behalf of, a person who was injured or died as a result of the crime.  The Program may 
help with certain expenses such as medical or mental health bills or other losses directly related to the crime and covered by 
the Program.  Personal property losses including cash, or “pain and suffering” claims cannot be reimbursed by the 
Program. 

 

 
WHAT TO DO 

 
• 

• 

• 

• 

• 

Please print clearly in ink.  Separate applications must be completed for each injured victim. 
 

Enclose copies of crime-related medical bills received so far and send any other bills as they are received.  The 
Program requires that the bills be itemized.  It is the applicant’s responsibility to document the losses.   If there is 
insurance, Medical Assistance or other coverage sources for costs of medical or mental health expenses, a 
provider from within the provider group or that the network will reimburse, must be used. If those sources are 
not used first, the Program may not be able to consider reimbursement of those costs. 

 
Send the completed application to the Crime Victim Compensation Program as soon as possible.  Do not wait until 
court is over or until treatment is completed. 

 
The application must be signed by the injured victim or by the parent or guardian if the victim is under 18 years of age.  
If the victim is deceased, the application may be signed by a family member or by the administrator of the victim’s 
estate. 

 
• Provide all information requested by the District Attorney’s Office to them in a timely manner. The Crime Victim 

Compensation Program Application does not need to be sent there. 
 

Return the completed application to the address listed on the bottom of this page.  The applicant will receive a letter 
from the Crime Victim Compensation Program acknowledging the receipt of the application. Call the Program if a letter 
is not received after two weeks of submitting the application. Notify the Program of any changes in address or phone 
number.  If you have any questions, please call (608) 264-9497 or 1-800-446-6564 (Toll-free).  Keep this information 
sheet for your records. 

 
REMEMBER 

 
• The crime must be reported to law enforcement within 5 days of the date of the crime and the victim must 

cooperate in the investigation and prosecution of any known suspects. The application must be filed within 1 year 
of the date of the crime.  However, there are very limited circumstances in which this requirement may be waived.  If 
the crime was not reported within 5-days or claim was not filed within 1 year, attach a written statement explaining the 
reason for the delay. 

 
• Any money received from other sources such as restitution, lawsuits, insurance settlements, etc. must be repaid to 

the Crime Victim Compensation Program for crime related expenses paid by the Program. 
 

Wisconsin Department of Justice 
Crime Victim Compensation Program 

Post Office Box 7951 
Madison, WI 53707-7951 

(608) 264-9497  or  1-800-446-6564  (Toll-free) 
 
All information will be verified by the Crime Victim Compensation Program.  Section 949.17 of the Wisconsin Statutes provides 
penalties for persons who submit fraudulent applications. 
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CLAIM NO:  
 
DATE RECEIVED: 
 
 
 
 

 

 
 
 

CRIME VICTIM 
COMPENSATION 

APPLICATION 
Post Office Box 7951 

Madison, WI 53707-7951 
(608) 264-9497  or  1-800-446-6564  (Toll-free) 

WI Statutes Chapter 949 (For Office Use Only) 
 
 

PLEASE BE SURE TO SIGN THE APPLICATION ON THE LAST PAGE  
 

SECTION 1: VICTIM INFORMATION 
1. Victim’s First Name                                          Victim’s Last Name 2. Female 

 
Male 

3. Date of Birth 

/       / 
4. Social Security Number 5. Mailing Address 

6. City 7. State 8. Zip Code 9. County 

10. Home Telephone  

( ) 
11. Cell Phone 

( ) 

12. Work Telephone 

( ) 
14. Name of Attorney 

Street Address 

13. Is the victim represented by an attorney due to this crime: 

in filing this application?  Yes  No 

in a civil lawsuit?   Yes  No 

in an insurance action?  Yes  No 
City State Zip Code 

15. The following victim information is used for statistical purposes only and is needed to comply with federal regulations 

A. Handicapped 
 
    Before Crime:  Yes  No 
 
    After Crime:  Yes  No 

B. Race:   White   American Indian or Alaskan Native 

  Black   Asian/Pacific Islander  

  Hispanic  Other 

C. How did you learn about the Compensation Program?  (Check all that apply) 

 Law Enforcement  Attorney   Probation or Parole  Friend   Poster or Brochure 

 District Attorney   Sexual Assault Program  Newspaper   Relative  Public Service Announcement 

 Victim/Witness Program  Domestic Abuse Program  Funeral Director   Hospital  Other 

SECTION 2: PERSON FILLING OUT THE APPLICATION IF VICTIM IS A MINOR, HAS A 
                     GUARDIAN, OR IF VICTIM IS DECEASED 
1. Person’s Name 2. Relationship to Victim 

3. Mailing Address 4. City 5. State 6. Zip Code 

7. Home Telephone 

( ) 

8. Cell Phone 

( ) 

9. Work Telephone 

( ) 
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SECTION 3: CRIME INFORMATION 
1. Type of Crime  (Check all that apply) 

 Homicide                  Domestic Violence  Hit and Run of Pedestrian 
 Attempted Homicide  Child Physical Abuse  Sexual Assault 
 Assault/Battery                  Child Sexual Abuse  Robbery 

 Drunk Driver / DUI 
 Other       

                          
2. Location of Crime:  Street Address 3. City 4. State 5. County 

6. Date of Crime 

/       /      
7. Date Crime Reported 

/       / 

8. Law Enforcement Agency to which crime was reported Officer’s name 

9. Offender(s) Name(s):  

10. Did victim know offender(s)? Yes  No If yes, in what way?  

Description of Crime (optional):   

SECTION 4: MEDICAL/MENTAL HEALTH EXPENSE INFORMATION 
1. Name and address of medical facility where victim was first treated: 2. Date of Treatment: 

/        / 
3. Mental Health Treatment received, or to be received?  Yes  No  Unknown 

SECTION 5: MISCELLANEOUS EXPENSES 
 

Homemaker Services $ _____________          Documented Crime Scene Clean-up  $ _______________              

Securing a Crime Scene $ _____________          Property held as evidence  and damaged by Crime Lab testing   $ _________      

Clothing/bedding held as evidence and the reasonable replacement value of each: 

      $             $    

      $             $    

SECTION 6: INSURANCE AND BENEFIT INFORMATION 
1. Was there insurance or other source of payment to cover expenses at the time of the crime?  Yes  No 

2. Check all that apply: 
 

 Employers/Union Group  Workers’ Compensation  Medical Assistance/Title 19  Homeowners Insurance 
 

Veterans’ Benefits  County Welfare/GAMP   Victim/Spouse/Parent Insurance  Badger Care   
 

 Lawsuit  Disability   Medicare    Other (describe)      
 

SECTION 7: CRIMES INVOLVING MOTOR VEHICLES 
Did the victim have auto insurance?     

 Yes   No       Unknown                                            Name of company: 

Did the driver have auto insurance?         
 Yes     No        Unknown                                            Name of company: 

Did the offender have auto insurance?     
 Yes     No        Unknown                                            Name of company: 

SECTION 8: EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION 
Complete this section ONLY if the victim was employed at the time of injury. 

1.  Did victim miss time from work immediately following the crime?  

      Yes                No                 Unknown  

2. Is the victim self-employed?  
 

  Yes  No 

3. Dates absent from work due to crime related injuries:  From       To      

4. Name of Employer 5. Employer Telephone 

( ) 
6. Employer Mailing Address 7. City 8. State 9. Zip Code 
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FOR CRIMES RESULTING IN DEATH 
SECTION 9: FUNERAL/BURIAL EXPENSES 
1. Funeral Home Name 2. Mailing Address 

3. City 4. State 5. Zip Code 6. Phone Number 

( ) 
7. Life Insurance   Yes   No       Unknown  Amount: $   Beneficiary   

SECTION 10: DEPENDENTS FINANCIALLY SUPPORTED BY VICTIM AT TIME OF DEATH 
First Name                                 Last Name 

 

Date of Birth 
Mo   /    Day    /    Yr 

 

Relationship to Victim 
 

 /       /  

 /       /  

 /       /  

 
NOTE: If a claim is approved, the Program may be able to assist certain family/household members of the 
deceased victim with losses due to emotional/physical reactions to the death. More information can be 
obtained by calling the Crime Victim Compensation Program office. 
 

 
AGREEMENT 

• My signature below means that I certify that information on this application is true and correct. 
• I agree that payments for bills may be paid directly to whom the payment is owed. 
• I understand that the Crime Victim Compensation Program reimburses for costs not covered by any other source. 
• I agree to notify the Crime Victim Compensation Program if a lawsuit is filed. 
• I agree to repay the Crime Victim Compensation Program for all payments made if I receive money from any other source. 
• I agree to refund the Crime Victim Compensation Program for all money paid by the Program if this claim is determined to be false 

or fraudulent.  
 

AUTHORIZATION 
I authorize and request any person having information needed by the Crime Victim Compensation Program to process my claim to 
release that information to the Wisconsin Department of Justice.  This includes, but is not limited to, all past law enforcement records 
concerning me; private and governmental physicians and hospitals; local, state and federal law enforcement and prosecutors office 
and federal court personnel; any employer; and any private company or governmental agency that is providing or may provide medical 
or monetary benefits. A photocopy or facsimile of this authorization shall be considered as effective and valid as the original. 
 
I authorize the Crime Victim Compensation Program to release copies of crime-related medical bills and wage information to the Office 
of the District Attorney for determination and documentation of restitution. I certify that I understand and agree to the above statements.
 

    
Signature of Victim or Person filing Claim      Date 

 
RETURN COMPLETED APPLICATION TO: 

 
Wisconsin Department of Justice 

Crime Victim Compensation Program 
Post Office Box 7951 

Madison, WI 53707-7951 
FAX (608) 264-6368 

 
FOR ASSISTANCE CALL:   In Madison  (608) 264-9497 

        Toll Free  1-800-446-6564 

 


