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TO OUR EMPLOYEES: 
 
All of us appreciate the protection and security insurance provides. 
 
This certificate describes the benefits that are available to you. We urge you to read it carefully. 
 
Benefits are provided through a group policy issued to Milwaukee County by Metropolitan Life Insurance 
Company.  
 
 
 
 
 

Milwaukee County 



 
 

Metropolitan Life Insurance Company 
One Madison Avenue, New York, New York  10010-3690 

 
 

 
Certifies that, under and subject to the terms and conditions of the Group Policy issued to the Employer, 
coverage is provided for each Employee as defined herein. 
 
The date when an Employee is eligible for coverage is set forth in the form with the title Eligibility for Benefits. 
 
The date when an Employee’s Personal Benefits become effective is set forth in the form with the title 
Effective Dates of Personal Benefits. 
 
The date when an Employee's Dependent Benefits become effective is set forth in the form with the title 
Effective Dates of Dependent Benefits. 
 
The amounts of coverage are determined by the form with the title Schedule of Benefits. 
 

 
 Robert H. Benmosche 
 Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer 
 
Employer: Milwaukee County 
 
Group Policy No.: 104177-G 
 
Florida Residents: The benefits of the policy providing your coverage are governed primarily by 
the law of a state other than Florida. 
 
For Maryland residents: The group insurance policy providing coverage under 
this certificate was issued in a jurisdiction other than Maryland and may not 
provide all of the benefits required by Maryland law. 
 
North Dakota Residents: Free Look Period for Life Insurance:  If You are not satisfied with your 
certificate, You may return it to Us within 20 days after You receive it, unless a claim has 
previously been received by Us under your certificate. We will refund within 30 days of our receipt 
of the returned certificate any Premium that has been paid and the certificate will then be 
considered to have never been issued. You should be aware that, if you elect to return the 
certificate for a refund of premiums, losses which otherwise would have been covered under your 
certificate will not be covered. 
 
For West Virginia Residents: You have the right to return this certificate within ten days of its 
receipt and to have your premium refunded if, after examination of the certificate, you are not 
satisfied for any reason. 
 
Accelerated Benefits may be taxable. If so, you or your Beneficiary may incur a tax obligation. As with all tax 
matters, you should consult your personal tax advisor to assess the impact of this Benefit. 
 
Texas Residents: Please Read the Notice Pages for Texas Residents Carefully  
 
If any prior certificate relating to the coverage set forth herein has been given to the Employee, such 
certificate is void. 
 
Form G.23000-Cert.-1 
 



For Texas Residents: 
 
IMPORTANT NOTICE 
 
To obtain information or make a complaint: 
 
 
You may call MetLife’s toll-free telephone 
number for information or to make a 
complaint at 
 

1-800-638-5433 
 
 
You may contact the Texas Department of 
Insurance to obtain information on companies, 
coverages, rights or complaints at 
 
 
 

1-800-252-3439 
 
 
You may write the Texas Department of 
Insurance 
P.O. Box 149104 
Austin, TX  78714-9104 
Fax # 512 - 475-1771 
 
 
PREMIUM OR CLAIM DISPUTES:  Should you 
have a dispute concerning your premium or 
about a claim you should contact MetLife first.  If 
the dispute is not resolved, you may contact the 
Texas Department of Insurance. 
 
 
ATTACH THIS NOTICE TO YOUR 
CERTIFICATE:  This notice is for information 
only and does not become a part or condition of 
the attached document. 

Para Residentes de Texas: 
 
AVISO IMPORTANTE 
 
Para obtener informacion o para someter una 
queja: 
 
Usted puede llamar al numero de telefono gratis 
de MetLife para informacion o para someter una 
queja al 
 

1-800-638-5433 
 
 
Puede comunicarse con el Departamento de 
Seguros de Texas para obtener informacion 
acerca de companias, coberturas, derechos o 
quejas al 
 
 

1-800-252-3439 
 
 
Puede escribir al Departamento de Seguros de 
Texas 
P.O. Box 149104 
Austin, TX 78714-9104 
Fax # 512 - 475-1771 
 
 
DISPUTAS SOBRE PRIMAS O RECLAMOS:  
Si tiene una disputa concerniente a su prima o a 
un reclamo, debe comunicarse con MetLife 
primero.  Si no se resuelve la disputa, puede 
entonces comunicarse con el departamento 
(TDI). 
 
UNA ESTE AVISO A SU CERTIFICADO: Este 
aviso es solo para proposito de informacion y no 
se convierte en parte o condicion del documento 
adjunto. 
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For Texas Residents: 
 

IMPORTANT NOTICES 
 
DEATH BENEFITS WILL BE REDUCED IF AN ACCELERATION-OF-LIFE-INSURANCE BENEFIT IS 
PAID. 
 
DISCLOSURE: The acceleration-of-life-insurance benefits offered under this certificate are 
intended to qualify for favorable tax treatment under the Internal Revenue Code of 1986. If the 
acceleration-of-life-insurance benefits qualify for such favorable tax treatment, the benefits will be 
excludable from your income and not subject to federal taxation. Tax laws relating to acceleration-
of-life insurance benefits are complex. You are advised to consult with a qualified tax advisor 
about circumstances under which you could receive acceleration-of-life-insurance benefits 
excludable from income under the federal law. 
 
DISCLOSURE: Receipt of acceleration-of-life-insurance benefits may affect your, your spouse’s or 
your family’s eligibility for public assistance programs such as Medical Assistance (Medicaid), Aid 
to Families with Dependent Children (AFDC), supplementary Social Security Income (SSI), and 
drug assistance programs. You are advised to consult with a qualified tax advisor and with social 
service agencies concerning how receipt of such payment will affect your, your spouse and your 
family’s eligibility for public assistance. 
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Arkansas residents please be advised of the following: 
 

IMPORTANT NOTICE 
 

IF YOU HAVE A QUESTION CONCERNING YOUR COVERAGE OR A CLAIM, 
FIRST CONTACT YOUR GROUP EMPLOYER OR GROUP ACCOUNT 
ADMINISTRATOR. IF, AFTER DOING SO, YOU STILL HAVE A CONCERN, YOU 
MAY CALL METLIFE'S TOLL-FREE TELEPHONE NUMBER: 

 
1-800-638-5433 

 
IF YOU ARE STILL CONCERNED AFTER CONTACTING BOTH YOUR GROUP 
EMPLOYER AND METLIFE, YOU SHOULD FEEL FREE TO CONTACT: 

 
ARKANSAS INSURANCE DEPARTMENT 

CONSUMER SERVICES DIVISION 
1200 WEST THIRD 

LITTLE ROCK, ARKANSAS 72201-1904 
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California residents please be advised of the following: 
 

IMPORTANT NOTICE 
 

TO OBTAIN ADDITIONAL INFORMATION, OR TO MAKE A COMPLAINT, 
CONTACT METLIFE AT: 

 
METROPOLITAN LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY 

1 MADISON AVENUE 
NEW YORK, NY 10010 

ATTN: CORPORATE CONSUMER RELATIONS DEPARTMENT 
1-800-638-5433 

 
IF, AFTER CONTACTING METLIFE REGARDING A COMPLAINT, YOU FEEL 
THAT A SATISFACTORY RESOLUTION HAS NOT BEEN REACHED, YOU MAY 
FILE A COMPLAINT WITH THE CALIFORNIA INSURANCE DEPARTMENT AT: 

 
CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE 

300 SOUTH SPRING STREET 
LOS ANGELES, CA 90013 

1-800-927-4357 (within California) 
1-213-897-8921 (outside California) 
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Georgia residents please be advised of the following: 
 

IMPORTANT NOTICE 
 

The laws of the state of Georgia prohibit insurers from unfairly discriminating 
against any person based upon his or her status as a victim of family violence. 
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IMPORTANT NOTICE 
 

NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF MONTANA 
 

If a claim on your life or your Dependent's life becomes payable under this certificate, settlement 
of the claim shall be made within 60 days of the date that we receive proof of death that is 
satisfactory to us.  The settlement shall include interest from the 30th day after we receive such 
proof until settlement.  Such interest shall be paid at the rate required by law in Montana. 
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Utah residents please be advised of the following: 
 

NOTICE TO POLICYHOLDERS 
 
 
Insurance companies licensed to sell life insurance, health insurance, or annuities in the State of Utah are 
required by law to be members of an organization called the Utah Life and Health Insurance Guaranty 
Association ("ULHIGA"). If an insurance company that is licensed to sell insurance in Utah becomes 
insolvent (bankrupt), and is unable to pay claims to its policyholders, the law requires ULHIGA to pay some 
of the insurance company's claims. The purpose of this notice is to briefly describe some of the benefits and 
limitations provided to Utah insureds by ULHIGA. 
 

PEOPLE ENTITLED TO COVERAGE 
 
 · You must be a Utah resident. 
 
 · You must have insurance coverage under an individual or group policy. 
 

POLICIES COVERED 
 
 · ULHIGA provides coverage for certain life, health and annuity insurance policies. 
 

EXCLUSIONS AND LIMITATIONS 
 
Several kinds of insurance policies are specifically excluded from coverage.  There are also a number of 
limitations to coverage.  The following are not covered by ULHIGA: 
 
 · Coverage through an HMO. 
 
 · Coverage by insurance companies not licensed in Utah. 
 
 · Self-funded and self-insured coverage provided by an employer that is only administered by 

an insurance company. 
 
 · Policies protected by another state's Guaranty Association. 
 
 · Policies where the insurance company does not guarantee the benefits. 
 
 · Policies where the policyholder bears the risk under the policy. 
 
 · Re-insurance contracts. 
 
 · Annuity policies that are not issued to and owned by an individual, unless the annuity policy is 

issued to a pension benefit plan that is covered. 
 
 · Policies issued to pension benefit plans protected by the Federal Pension Benefit Guaranty 

Corporation. 
 
 · Policies issued to entities that are not members of the ULHIGA, including health plans, 

fraternal benefit societies, state pooling plans and mutual assessment companies. 
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LIMITS ON AMOUNT OF COVERAGE 
 
Caps are placed on the amount ULHIGA will pay. These caps apply even if you are insured by more than 
one policy issued by the insolvent company. The maximum ULHIGA will pay is the amount of your coverage 
or $500,000 — whichever is lower. Other caps also apply: 
 
 · $100,000 in net cash surrender values. 
 
 · $500,000 in life insurance death benefits (including cash surrender values). 
 
 · $500,000 in health insurance benefits. 
 
 · $200,000 in annuity benefits — if the annuity is issued to and owned by an individual or the 

annuity is issued to a pension plan covering government employees. 
 
 · $5,000,000 in annuity benefits to the contract holder of annuities issued to pension plans 

covered by the law. (Other limitations apply). 
 
 · Interest rates on some policies may be adjusted downward. 
 

DISCLAIMER  
 PLEASE READ CAREFULLY: 
 
 · COVERAGE FROM ULHIGA MAY BE UNAVAILABLE UNDER THIS 
POLICY. OR, IF AVAILABLE, IT MAY BE SUBJECT TO SUBSTANTIAL LIMITATIONS 
OR EXCLUSIONS. THE DESCRIPTION OF COVERAGES CONTAINED IN THIS 
DOCUMENT IS AN OVERVIEW. IT IS NOT A COMPLETE DESCRIPTION. YOU 
CANNOT RELY ON THIS DOCUMENT AS A DESCRIPTION OF COVERAGE. FOR A 
COMPLETE DESCRIPTION OF COVERAGE, CONSULT THE UTAH CODE, TITLE 
31A, CHAPTER 28. 
 
 · COVERAGE IS CONDITIONED ON CONTINUED RESIDENCY IN THE 
STATE OF UTAH. 
 
 · THE PROTECTION THAT MAY BE PROVIDED BY ULHIGA IS NOT A 
SUBSTITUTE FOR CONSUMERS' CARE IN SELECTING AN INSURANCE COMPANY 
THAT IS WELL-MANAGED AND FINANCIALLY STABLE. 
 
 · INSURANCE COMPANIES AND INSURANCE AGENTS ARE REQUIRED 
BY LAW TO GIVE YOU THIS NOTICE. THE LAW DOES, HOWEVER, PROHIBIT THEM 
FROM USING THE EXISTENCE OF ULHIGA AS AN INDUCEMENT TO SELL YOU 
INSURANCE. 
 
 · THE ADDRESS OF ULHIGA, AND THE INSURANCE DEPARTMENT 
ARE PROVIDED BELOW. 
 

Utah Life and Health Insurance 
Guaranty Association 
955 E. Pioneer Rd. 
Draper, Utah 84114 

 
Utah Insurance Department 

State Office Building, Room 3110 
Salt Lake City, Utah 84114 
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Virginia residents please be advised of the following: 
 
 

IMPORTANT INFORMATION REGARDING YOUR INSURANCE 
 

In the event you need to contact someone about this insurance for any reason please 
contact your agent.  If no agent was involved in the sale of this insurance, or if you 
have additional questions you may contact the insurance company issuing this 
insurance at the following address and telephone number: 

 
Metropolitan Life Insurance Company 

1 Madison Avenue 
New York, New York 10010 

Attn: Corporate Customer Relations Department 
 

To phone in a claim related question, you may call Claims Customer Service at: 
 

1-800-638-5433 
 

If you have been unable to contact or obtain satisfaction from the company or the 
agent, you may contact the Virginia State Corporation Commission's Bureau of 
Insurance at: 

 
 

Life and Health Division 
Bureau of Insurance 

P.O. Box 1157 
Richmond, VA 23209 

 
 1-800-552-7945 - In-state toll-free 
 1-804-786-3741 - Out-of-state 
 
 

Written correspondence is preferable so that a record of your inquiry is maintained.  
When contacting your agent, company or the Bureau of Insurance, have your policy 
number available. 
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Wisconsin residents please be advised of the following: 
 
 

KEEP THIS NOTICE WITH YOUR INSURANCE PAPERS 
 
 

PROBLEMS WITH YOUR INSURANCE? - If you are having problems with your 
insurance company or agent, do not hesitate to contact the insurance company or 
agent to resolve your problem. 

 
 

Metropolitan Life Insurance Company 
Corporate Consumer Relations Department 

1 Madison Avenue 
New York, NY 10010 

1-800-638-5433 
 
 

You can also contact the OFFICE OF THE COMMISSIONER OF INSURANCE, a 
state agency which enforces Wisconsin's insurance laws, and file a complaint.  You 
can contact the OFFICE OF THE COMMISSIONER OF INSURANCE by contacting: 

 
 

Office of the Commissioner of Insurance 
Complaints Department 

P.O. Box 7873 
Madison, WI 53707-7873 

1-800-236-8517 outside of Madison or 266-0103 in Madison. 
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SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS 

(Also see SCHEDULE SUPPLEMENT) 
 

 
 
The following Benefits are provided subject to the provisions below. 
 
BENEFITS (EMPLOYEE ONLY) AMOUNT
 
BASIC LIFE .........................................................................     An amount equal to 1 times your basic 

annual earnings, as determined by your 
Employer, rounded to the next higher 
$1,000.   

 
OPTIONAL LIFE 
You may select from the following amounts: 
 
                     $5,000     $13,000     $20,000     $40,000     $70,000     $125,000 
                     $7,000     $15,000     $25,000     $45,000     $80,000     $150,000 
                     $9,000     $17,000     $30,000     $50,000     $90,000     $175,000 
                     $11,000   $19,000     $35,000     $60,000     $100,000   $200,000 
 
 
Total Combined Maximum Benefit  
of Basic and Optional Life Benefits………………………….      $1,000,000  
 
 
See pages hereof entitled ACCELERATED BENEFITS (ON YOUR OWN ACCOUNT). 
 
You may request payment of an Accelerated Benefit from your Basic or Optional Life Benefits or from 
both. If you elect payment from both your Basic and Optional Life Benefits, the Accelerated Benefits 
payment will be determined in accordance with the pages hereof entitled ACCELERATED BENEFITS (On 
Your Own Account), but not more than $250,000 will be payable for Basic Life and not more than 
$250,000 for Optional Life. 
 
 
 
DEPENDENT LIFE  (Non Union Employees Only) 
 
Spouse ................................................................................. Multiples of $10,000, up to the lesser of 

50% of your Life Benefits and $100,000 
 
Child (Birth to 6 months)………………………………………     $200 
 
Child (6 months to 25 years) 
 
All Employees who elect: 
 
Option 1…………………………………………………………     $5,000 
 
Option 1…………………………………………………………     $10,000 
 
Option 1…………………………………………………………     $12,500 
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See pages hereof entitled ACCELERATED BENEFITS (ON ACCOUNT OF YOUR DEPENDENT SPOUSE). 
 

INCREASES AND DECREASES IN AMOUNTS OF 
BASIC AND OPTIONAL LIFE BENEFITS 

 
Your earnings on the date you become covered under This Plan will determine your benefits on that date. 
Any increase or decrease in your benefits will take place on the date of change in your earnings provided you 
are Actively at Work on that date. If you are not Actively at Work on the date of change in your earnings, the 
change in your benefits will take place when you return to Active Work. 
 

PROVISIONS APPLICABLE TO DEPENDENT SPOUSE LIFE BENEFITS GREATER THAN $20,000 
 

1. In order for your dependent spouse to be covered for an amount of Life Benefits greater than    
$20,000, evidence of good health must be given to us.  The evidence of good health is to be given 
at your expense. 

 
If the evidence of good health is accepted by us as satisfactory, such amount of Life Benefits will be 
effective on the later of: 

 
a.  the date the Dependent Spouse Life Benefits would otherwise be effective; and  

 
b.  the date the evidence of good health is accepted by us; 

 
provided you are Actively at Work on that date.  If you are not Actively at Work on that date, such 
amount of Life Benefits will become effective on the date of your return to Active Work. 

 
If the evidence of good health is not accepted by us as satisfactory, the amount of your Dependent 
Spouse Life Benefits will be limited to the lesser of 50% of your life benefits and $20,000  

  
   2. If your Dependent Spouse is already covered for an amount of Life Benefits greater than $20,000,  

evidence of good health must be given to us in order for such amounts of Life Benefits to be 
increased.  The evidence of good health is to be given at your expense.   

 
If the evidence of good health is accepted by us as satisfactory, the increased amount of Life 
Benefits will be effective on the later of: 

 
   a.  the date the Dependent Spouse Life Benefits would otherwise be effective; and  

  
         b.  the date the evidence of good health is accepted by us; 
 

provided you are Actively at Work on that date.  If you are not Actively at Work on that date, such 
amount of Life Benefits will become effective on the date of your return to Active Work. 

 
If the evidence of good health is not accepted by us as satisfactory, the amount of your Dependent 
Spouse Life Benefits will not be increased. 
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IF YOU ARE AGE 65 OR OLDER 

 
The amounts of your Basic Life Benefits on and after age 65 will be determined by applying the appropriate 
percentage from the following table to the amount of such benefits which would otherwise have been 
applicable had you not become age 65: 
 

   Age of Employee 
 

Percentage 
 

   65 but less than 66 
                66 but less than 67 
   67 but less than 68 
   68 but less than 69 
                69 but less than 70 
                70 and older 

92%  
84% 
76% 
68% 
60% 
25% 

 
The amounts of your Optional Life Benefits on or after age 65 will be determined in accordance with the 
following chart: 
 
Optional Life 

Amount 
Age 60 but  

under Age 65 
Age 65 but  

under Age 70 
Age 70 but  

under Age 75 
Age 75 but  

under Age 80 
Age 80  

and over 

5000 3300 2100 1400 900 600 
7000 4600 3000 2000 1300 900 
9000 5900 3800 2500 1700 1100 
11000 7200 4700 3000 2000 1300 
13000 8500 5500 3600 2400 1600 
15000 9800 6300 4100 2700 1800 
17000 11100 7200 4600 3100 2100 
19000 12400 8000 5200 3500 2300 
20000 13000 8400 5400 3600 2400 
25000 16300 10500 6800 4500 3000 
30000 19500 12600 8100 5400 3600 
35000 22800 14700 9500 6300 4200 
40000 26000 16800 10800 7200 4800 
45000 29300 18900 12200 8100 5400 
50000 32500 21000 13500 9000 6000 
60000 39000 25200 16200 10800 7200 
70000 45500 29400 18900 12600 8400 
80000 52000 33600 21600 14400 9600 
90000 58500 37800 24300 16200 10800 
100000 65000 42000 27000 18000 15000 
125000 81300 52500 33800 22500 15000 
150000 97500 63000 40500 27000 18000 
175000 113800 73500 47300 31500 21000 
200000 130000 84000 54000 36000 24000 
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AMOUNT OF CONTINUED DEATH BENEFITS DURING TOTAL DISABILITY 
 
The amount of your Death Benefits will be determined by the table below. The percentage for your age on 
the date of your death is to be applied to the amount of your Life Benefits on the date your Life Benefits 
ended. 
 
   If You Die 
 

Percentage 

   Before age 65 
 
   On or after age 65 
 

100% 
 
0% 
 

 
Your Death Benefits will be reduced if Accelerated Benefits are paid. 
 

WHEN YOU RETIRE 
 

Your Basic Life Benefits continue when you retire.  No other benefits are provided under This Plan on or after 
the day you retire. 
 

Form G.23000-B 
 
 

SCHEDULE SUPPLEMENT 
 
 
 
A. Statements Made by You Which Relate to Insurability 
 

Any statement made by you will be deemed a representation and not a warranty. 
 

No such statement made by you which relates to insurability will be used: 
 

1. in contesting the validity of the benefits with respect to which such statement was made; or 
 

2. to reduce the benefits; 
 

unless the conditions listed in items (a) and (b) below have been met: 
 

a. The statement must be contained in a written application which has been signed by you. 
 

b. A copy of the application has been furnished to you or to your Beneficiary. 
 

No such statement made by you will be used at all after such benefits have been in force prior to the 
contest for a period of two years during the lifetime of the person to whom the statement applies. 

 
B. Assignment 
 

The benefits with respect to the Life Benefits (On Your Own Account) under This Plan may be assigned 
as a gift. The benefits with respect to the Life Benefits (On Your Own Account) are also assignable by 
means of a viatical assignment. Any such assignment will transfer all right, title, interest and incidents of 
ownership, both present and future, in such benefits, including, but not limited to, the following: 

 
1. The right to make any contributions required to keep the benefits in force under This Plan. 

 
2. The privilege of obtaining an individual policy of life insurance. 
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3. The right to change the Beneficiary. 
 

No assignment will be binding on us nor on the Employer unless the following conditions are met: 
 

1. The assignment is in a form which is acceptable to us and to the Employer. 
 

2. The assignment is accepted, in writing, by us and by the Employer. 
 

3. The assignment is filed at our Home Office. 
 

We assume no obligation as to the validity or the sufficiency of any assignment; neither does the 
Employer. 

 
C. Additional Provisions 
 

1. The benefits under This Plan do not at any time provide paid-up insurance, or loan or cash values. 
 
2. No agent has the authority: 

 
a. to accept or to waive the required proof of a claim; nor 
 
b. to extend the time within which a proof must be given to us. 

 

Form G.23000-B1 
 
 

DEFINITIONS OF CERTAIN TERMS USED HEREIN 
 
 
 
"Actively at Work" or "Active Work" means that you are performing all of the material duties of your job 
with the Employer where these duties are normally carried out. If you were Actively at Work on your last 
scheduled working day, you will be deemed Actively at Work: 
 
1. on a scheduled non-working day; 
 
2. provided you are not disabled. 
 
"Covered Person" means an Employee or a Dependent on whose account benefits are in effect under This 
Plan. 
 
"Dependent" means your spouse or your unmarried child except for: 
 
1. a person who is in the military or like forces of any country or of any subdivision of a country; 
 
2. a person who is covered under This Plan as an Employee; 
 
3. a person who lives outside the United States or Canada; 
  
4. a child who: 
 

a. is 19 years of age or older and who is employed on a full-time basis; or 
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b. is 19 years of age or older and who is not a full-time student at an approved school, as determined 
by the Employer; or 

 
c. is 25 years of age or older. 

. 
If a Dependent child is a Covered Person on the day before that child has reached the applicable age limit, 
that child will continue to be a Dependent after the age limit as long as: 
 

a. that child is and remains unable to work in self-sustaining employment because of: 
 

i. physical handicap; or 
 

ii. mental retardation; and 
 

b. that child is and remains chiefly dependent upon you for support; and 
 

c. that child is and remains a Dependent, as defined, except for the age limit; and 
 

d. you give us proof, when we ask for it, that the child is and remains so unable to work and 
dependent upon you since the age limit. We will not ask for proof more than once a year. The proof 
must be satisfactory to us; and 

 
e. you make any payment which is required by the Employer. 

 
Child includes: 
 

a. a child who is supported solely by you and permanently living in the home of which you are the 
head; and 

 
b. a child who is legally adopted; and 

 
c. a stepchild who lives in your home; and 

 
d. a child for whom benefits must be provided by court order, that we have been notified of (as set 

forth in a divorce decree). 
 
No person may be covered as a Dependent of more than one Employee. 
 
"Dependent Benefits" mean the benefits which are provided on account of a Dependent under This Plan. 
 
"Doctor" means a person who is legally licensed to practice medicine. A licensed practitioner will be 
considered a Doctor if: 
 
1.  there is a law which applies to This Plan and that law requires that any service performed by such a 

practitioner must be considered for benefits on the same basis as if the service were performed by a 
Doctor; and 

 
2.  the service performed by the practitioner is within the scope of his or her license. 
 
"Employee" means a person who is employed and paid for services by the Employer on a full-time basis. 
 
"Enrollment Form" means the form used by you to request: 
 
1. Personal Benefits; and 
 
2. Dependent Benefits; 
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which contains certain medical questions which the applicant must complete. 
 
"Hospitalized" means that you or your Dependent has received: 
 
1. inpatient care in a hospital; or 
 
2. care in: 
 

a. a hospice facility; or 
 
b. an intermediate facility; or 
 
c. a long term care facility; or 

 
3. chemotherapy; or 
 
4. radiation therapy; or 
 
5. dialysis treatment. 
 
"Normal Activities" means that your Dependent: 
 
1. is not confined in a hospital; or 
 
2. is not confined at home under the care of a Doctor for a sickness or injury; or 
 
3. is not receiving and is not entitled to receive any disability income from any source due to any sickness 

or injury. 
 
"Personal Benefits" mean the benefits which are provided on account of an Employee under This Plan. 
 
"Qualifying Events" means a change in your family, employment or group coverage status which would 
affect your Benefits under This Plan due to one or more of the following: 
 
1. marriage; 
 
2. birth, adoption or placement for adoption of a dependent child; 
 
3. divorce, legal separation or annulment; 
 
4. death of a dependent; 
 
"This Plan" means the Group Policy which is issued by us to provide Personal Benefits and Dependent 
Benefits. 
 
"Total Disability" or "Totally Disabled" means that because of a sickness or an injury: 
 
1. you can not do your job; and 
 
2. you can not do any other job for which you are fit by your education, your training or your experience. 
 
"We", "us" and "our" mean Metropolitan. 
 
"Work Requirements" means that you have: 
 
1. worked as an Employee at least 20 hours during the last 7 consecutive calendar days; and 
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2. worked at either your usual place of business or away from your usual place of business at your 
Employer's convenience. 

 
"You" and "your" mean the Employee who is a Covered Person for Personal Benefits. They do not include 
a Dependent of the Employee. 
 

Form G.23000-A 
 
 

ELIGIBILITY FOR BENEFITS 
 
 
 
Personal Benefits Eligibility Date 
 
If you are an Employee on January 1, 2007, that is your Personal Benefits Eligibility Date. 
 
If you become an Employee after January 1, 2007, your Personal Benefits Eligibility Date is the day after the 
date you complete 6 months of continuous service as an Employee of the Employer. 
 
Dependent Benefits Eligibility Date 
 
Your Dependent Benefits Eligibility Date is the later of your Personal Benefits Eligibility Date and the date you 
first acquire a Dependent. 
 

Form G.23000-C 
 
 

EFFECTIVE DATES OF PERSONAL BENEFITS 
 
 
 
A. Making a Request for Benefits 
 

1. Your Employer has established a flexible benefits plan. Under such a plan, you can choose the 
amount and types of benefits subject to the rules of the plan. Such rules include time frames during 
which you may make a request to be covered or to change your benefits under This Plan as set 
forth below. Such rules also establish a time frame for when changes in the amount of your benefits 
are made as a result of a change in your class or earnings. Your Employer can provide you with 
more information regarding the flexible benefits plan. In order to become covered for Personal 
Benefits under This Plan, you must make a written request to the Employer on the flexible benefits 
enrollment form furnished by the Employer. 
 
In general, you can make choices for coverage for Personal Benefits: 
 
a. when you are first eligible for Personal Benefits; and 

 
b. when you have a Qualifying Event and want to make a change in your coverage for Personal 

Benefits to be more consistent with your new family status; and 
 

c. during the annual enrollment period as designated by the Employer and reported to you. 
 

Requests to be covered for Personal Benefits may only be made: 
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a. during the first and any subsequent annual enrollment period, as designated by the Employer 
and reported to you, following your Personal Benefits Eligibility Date; or 

 
b. during the thirty-one day period following your Personal Benefits Eligibility Date; or 

 
c. within thirty-one days of a Qualifying Event. 

 
If you are already covered for Personal Benefits, requests for changes in Personal Benefits may 
only be made: 

 
a. during the annual enrollment period, as designated by the Employer and reported to you; or 

 
b. within thirty-one days of a Qualifying Event, provided that the change in coverage is consistent 

with your new family status. 
 

2. If you make a request to be covered for Personal Benefits within thirty-one days of your Personal 
Benefits Eligibility Date, your Personal Benefits will become effective on your Personal Benefits 
Eligibility Date, subject to the Work Requirements. 

 
3. If you make a request to be covered for Personal Benefits or a request for change(s) in Personal 

Benefits within thirty-one days of a Qualifying Event, your Personal Benefits or the change(s) in 
Personal Benefits will become effective on the first day of the month following the date of your 
request, subject to the Work Requirements, and provided that the change in coverage is consistent 
with your new family status. 

 
4. If you make a request to be covered for Personal Benefits during an annual enrollment period, but 

after: 
 

a. your Personal Benefits Eligibility Date; or 
 

b. electing no coverage at your initial eligibility date; 
 

evidence of your good health must be given to us. 
 

5.     If during an annual enrollment period you make a request to change your Optional Life Benefits to 
an option of the Plan providing the next higher level of benefits, evidence of your good health is not 
required. The increased amount of Optional Life Benefits  will become effective on the first day of 
the calendar year following the annual enrollment period, subject to the Active Work Requirement. 

 
       6.  If you make a request, during an annual enrollment period, to increase your Life Benefits to an 

option of the Plan providing more than the next higher level of benefits, you must give us evidence 
of your good health at your expense.  The increased amount of Life Benefits will become effective 
on the later of: 

 
  a.    the first day of the calendar year following the annual enrollment period; and 
 
b.    the date we accept such evidence of good health as satisfactory; 

 
     Provided you are then actively at work and subject to the Work Requirements. 
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7.   If you make a request, during an annual enrollment period, to decrease your Optional Life Benefits   
to an option of the Plan providing a lower level of benefits, the decreased amount of Optional Life 
Benefits will become effective on the first day of the calendar year following the annual enrollment 
period. 

 
B. Evidence of Good Health 
 

The evidence of good health is to be given at your expense. Your Personal Benefits will become 
effective on the first day of the month following the date such evidence of good health is accepted by us 
as satisfactory, subject to the Work Requirements. 

 
If the evidence of your good health is not accepted by us as satisfactory, you will not be covered for 
Personal Benefits. 

 
C. Active Work Requirement 
 

You must be Actively at Work in order for your Personal Benefits to become effective. If you are not 
Actively at Work on the date when your Personal Benefits would otherwise become effective, your 
Personal Benefits will become effective on the first day after you return to Active Work. 

 
D. Reinstatement of Benefits 
 

If your Personal Benefits end because you do not make a required contribution to their cost, you may 
make a request to reinstate them, subject to the foregoing provisions. 

 
E. Work Requirements 
 

You must satisfy the Work Requirements in order for your Personal Benefits to become effective. If you 
have not satisfied the Work Requirements on the date when your Personal Benefits would otherwise 
become effective, these benefits will become effective on the first day after you satisfy the Work 
Requirements. 

 

Form G.23000-D1 
 
 

EFFECTIVE DATES OF DEPENDENT BENEFITS 
 
 
 
A. Making a Request for Benefits 
 

1. In order to become insured for Dependent Benefits under This Plan, you must make a written 
request to the Employer on the flexible benefits enrollment form furnished by the Employer. 

 
Requests to be insured for Dependent Benefits may only be made: 

 
a. during the thirty-one day period following your Dependent Benefits Eligibility Date; or 

 
b. during the first and any subsequent annual enrollment period, as designated by the Employer 

and reported to you, following your Dependent Benefits Eligibility Date; or 
 

c. within thirty-one days of a Qualifying Event, provided that the change in coverage is consistent 
with your new family status. 
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Requests for changes in your Dependent Benefits may only be made: 
 

a. during the annual enrollment period, as designated by the Employer and reported to you; or 
 

b. within thirty-one days of a Qualifying Event, provided that the change in coverage is consistent 
with your new family status. 

 
2. If you make a request to be insured for Dependent Benefits within thirty-one days of your 

Dependent Benefits Eligibility Date, your Dependent Benefits will become effective, subject to the 
Additional Requirements, and, on the latest of: 
 
a. your Dependent Benefits Eligibility Date; and 
 
b. the effective date of your Personal Benefits; and 

 
c. the date the information on the enrollment form related to such Dependent is accepted by us 

as satisfactory. 
 

3. If you make a request to be insured for Dependent Benefits or a request for change(s) in 
Dependent Benefits within thirty-one days of a Qualifying Event, your Dependent Benefits or the 
change(s) in the Dependent Benefits will become effective on the latest of: 

 
a. the date of the Qualifying Event; 

 
b. the effective date of your Personal Benefits; and 

 
c. the date of your request; 

 
subject to the Additional Requirements, and provided that the change in coverage is consistent with 
your new family status. 

 
4. If you make a request to be covered for Dependent Benefits, during an annual enrollment period but 

after: 
 

a. your Dependent Benefits Eligibility Date; or 
 
b. electing no coverage at the initial eligibility date; 

 
evidence of the good health of each such Dependent must be given to us. 

 
5. If you make a request, during an annual enrollment period, to increase your Dependent Life 

Benefits to an option of the Plan providing the next higher level of benefits, evidence of your 
Dependent's good health is not required. The increased amount of Dependent Life Benefits will 
become effective on the first day of the calendar year following the annual enrollment period. 

 
6. If you make a request, during an annual enrollment period, to increase your Dependent Life 

Benefits to an option of the Plan providing more than the next higher level of benefits, you must give 
us evidence of the good health of each of your Dependents. 

 
7. If you make a request, during an annual enrollment period, to decrease your Dependent Life 

Benefits to an option of the Plan providing a lower level of benefits, the decreased amount of 
Dependent Life Benefits will become effective on the first day of the calendar year following the 
annual enrollment period. 
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B. Additional Requirements 
 

If, on the date you would have become insured under This Plan for Life Benefits (On Account of 
Dependents), a Dependent: 

 
1. has been Hospitalized in the last three months prior to the date you make a request for Dependent 

Benefits under This Plan; 
 

2. is then Hospitalized; or 
 

3. is not then able to perform Normal Activities; 
 

then evidence of the good health of each such Dependent must be given to us. 
 
C. Evidence of Good Health 
 

The evidence of good health is to be given at your expense. Your Dependent Benefits will become 
effective for each such Dependent for whom evidence of good health must be given to us on the later of: 

 
1. the date the evidence of the good health of such Dependent is accepted by us as satisfactory; and 
 
2. the effective date of your Personal Benefits. 

 
If the evidence of the good health of any person is not accepted by us as satisfactory, such person: 

 
1. will be deemed not to be a Dependent for the purpose of Dependent Benefits; and 

 
2. will not be covered for Dependent Benefits. 

 
D. Reinstatement of Benefits 
 

If your Dependent Benefits end because you do not make a required contribution to their cost, you may 
make a request to reinstate them, subject to the foregoing provisions. 

 
E. New Dependents 
 

If you are insured for Dependent Benefits and acquire a new Dependent, such event may be considered, 
subject to the provisions of the flexible benefits plan, as a Qualifying Event. The effective date of 
Dependent Benefits with respect to such person who becomes your Dependent would be determined in 
accordance with the foregoing provisions. 

 

Form G.23000-D2 
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LIFE BENEFITS 

(On Your Own Account) 
 
 
 
A. Coverage 
 

If you die while you are covered for Life Benefits, we will pay to the Beneficiary the amount of Life 
Benefits that is in effect on your life on the date of your death.  

 
B. Optional Types of Payment 
 

Payment of any amount of Life Benefits may be made in installments. Details on the payment options 
may be obtained from the Employer. 

 
C. Suicide Provision (Applicable to Optional Life Benefits) 
 

Optional Life Benefits will not be paid to the Beneficiary if you commit suicide, while sane or insane, 
within 2 years from the effective date of this certificate. Instead we will pay the Beneficiary an amount 
equal to any contributions paid, without interest. 
 
If you commit suicide, while sane or insane, more than 2 years after the effective date of this certificate, 
but within 2 years from the effective date of any increase in the amount of your Optional Life Benefits, 
such increased amount will not be paid to the Beneficiary. Instead we will pay the Beneficiary: 

 
1. an amount equal to all contributions paid for the increased amount, without interest; plus 
 
2. an amount equal to the amount of Optional Life Benefits that was in effect on the day before the 

effective date of such increased amount. 
 

Form G.23000-1 
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ACCELERATED BENEFITS 

(On Your Own Account) 
 
 
 
A. Definitions 
 

"Meet the Requirements" means: 
 

1. your life span is drastically limited; and 
 

2. you are expected to die within 6 months; and 
 

3. you are not expected to recover. 
 

These must be certified by a Doctor and accepted by us. 
 
B. Coverage 
 

We will pay Accelerated Benefits to you if: 
 

1. you are less than 63 years old when you apply for Accelerated Benefits; and 
 
2. you apply for Accelerated Benefits while your Life Benefits or Death Benefits are in effect; and 

 
3. you Meet the Requirements while you are covered for Life Benefits or Death Benefits; and 

 
4. you or your legal representative requests payment of Accelerated Benefits while your Life Benefits 

or Death Benefits are in effect. 
 

Accelerated Benefits are payable only once. 
 

Payment of Accelerated Benefits will reduce your Life Benefits or Death Benefits and the amount 
available for you to convert to a personal policy of life insurance under RIGHT TO OBTAIN A 
PERSONAL POLICY OF LIFE INSURANCE ON YOUR OWN LIFE. 

 
C. Proof 
 

Accelerated Benefits will be payable when we receive proof that you Meet the Requirements. 
 
Proof must be given to us. The proof must be in a form that is satisfactory to us. We have no duty to ask 
for any proof. Any delay in submitting proof will not cause a claim to be denied so long as the proof is 
given as soon as reasonably possible. 

 
At the time that such proof is given, we may have you examined by Doctors of our choice, at our 
expense. 

 
D. Amount 
 

The amount of Accelerated Benefits payable is: 
 

1. up to 50% of your Life Benefits or Death Benefits as shown in the SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS 
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REDUCED BY 
 

a discount for the mortality and interest (*) for the actuarially determined life span, and 
 

MINUS 
 

an administrative charge; and 
 

2. determined as of the date we accept certification that you Meet the Requirements; and 
 

3. no more than $250,000 for Basic Life Insurance and $250,000 for Optional Life Insurance. 
 

(*) The interest rate used shall be the Moody's Corporate Bond Yield Averages - Monthly Average 
Corporates - published by Moody's Investors Service, Inc., or any successor thereto for the 
calendar month ending two months before the date you apply for an Accelerated Benefit. 

 
If your Life Benefits or Death Benefits are scheduled to reduce within six months of such certification 
date, we will, for the purpose of determining the amount of Accelerated Benefits, deem the amount of 
your Life Benefits or Death Benefits to have already been reduced on such certification date. 

 
After payment of the Accelerated Benefits, the amount of your Life Benefits or Death Benefits will be: 

 
1. the amount of Life Benefits or Death Benefits actually in effect on the certification date; less 

 
2. the amount of Accelerated Benefits requested. 
 
When the scheduled reduction date occurs, the amount of your Life Benefits or Death Benefits will be 
reduced. The amount of such reduction will be determined by applying the percentage in accordance 
with the provisions of This Plan to the amount of your Life Benefits or Death Benefits actually in effect on 
the certification date. 
After such scheduled reduction, the amount of your Life Benefits or Death Benefits will be the amount of 
your Life Benefits or Death Benefits actually in effect on the certification date: 

 
REDUCED BY 

 
the amount of such scheduled reduction; and 

 
MINUS 

 
the amount of Accelerated Benefits requested. 

 
Accelerated Benefits will be payable if you are living when payment is made. 
 
For Texas Residents:  Upon receipt of your claim form we will send you a Preadjudication letter 
containing specific information on the payment you requested. Such information will include the 
amount of payment which will be made to you and the amount of death benefit remaining after 
payment of the Accelerated Benefit. 
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E. Exclusions 
 

Accelerated Benefits will not be payable if: 
 
1. you have assigned your Life Benefits (see Assignment provision under SCHEDULE  

SUPPLEMENT); or 
 

2. we have been notified that all or a portion of your Life Benefits or Death Benefits are to be  
paid to your former spouse as part of a divorce agreement; or 
 

3. you Meet the Requirements as a result of: 
 

a. attempted suicide; or 
 
b. injuring yourself on purpose; or 

 
c. alcohol or drug abuse; or 

 
d. a war, or a warlike action in time of peace; or 

 
e. any event occurring while you are in violation of criminal law; or 

 
             4.    the amount of your Life Benefits or Death Benefits is less than $10,000. 
 
Form G.23000-36 
 
 

CONTINUED DEATH BENEFITS 
DURING TOTAL DISABILITY 

 
 
 
A. Coverage 

If you cease to be Actively at Work as an Employee due to Total Disability, your Life Benefits may be 
continued for up to 12 months. For this to occur, your Employer must deem you to be Actively at Work 
and must continue to make premium payments for your Life Benefits. Your Life Benefits will end once 
you have ceased to be Actively at Work as an Employee due to Total Disability for 12 months. Death 
Benefits may be payable after your Life Benefits end in certain cases of Total Disability. We will pay 
Death Benefits to your Beneficiary if: 

 
1. you become Totally Disabled before your Life Benefits end; and 

 
2. your Total Disability starts for Basic Life Benefits while you are covered for such benefits and for 

Optional Life Benefits after you have been covered for such benefits for one year; and 
 

3. you are less than 60 years old when you become Totally Disabled; and 
 

4. you continue to be Totally Disabled after your Life Benefits end and until the date of your death; and 
 

5. you die before you are 65 years old; and 
 

6. the required proof is submitted to us. 
 

However, no Death Benefits are payable if a death benefit is payable under RIGHT TO OBTAIN A 
PERSONAL POLICY OF LIFE INSURANCE ON YOUR OWN LIFE. 
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B. Proof of Claim 
 

The Death Benefits will be payable when we receive proof of your death if: 
 

1. we have received proof of your Total Disability no later than 12 months after the date you ceased to 
be Actively at Work because of Total Disability. This proof must establish that your Total Disability 
had continued for at least nine months from the date you were last Actively at Work; and 

 
2. you submit further proof, when we ask for it, that you continue to be Totally Disabled. We will not 

ask for such proof more than once a year; and 
 

3. upon your death proof that Total Disability continued to the date of your death is given to us. 
 

If you die within a year after your Life Benefits ended and before any proof has been given, then proof 
that your Total Disability continued to the date of your death must be given to us. This proof must be 
given within one year of your death. 

 
All proofs must be given to us. The proofs must be in a form that is satisfactory to us. We have no duty to 
ask for any proof. If any proof is not given on time, the delay will not cause a claim to be denied so long 
as the proof is given as soon as reasonably possible. 
 
At any time that proof of your Total Disability is given, we may have you examined by Doctors of our 
choice, at our expense. 

 
C. Amount 
 

The amount of Death Benefits is the amount shown in the SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS. 
 
D. Termination 

 
Your Death Benefits will end on: 

 
1. the date you are no longer Totally Disabled; or 

 
2. the date you do not give us proof of Total Disability when required; or 

 
3. the day before the date you become 65 years old. 

 
E. One Payment Only 
 

If we have issued a personal policy under RIGHT TO OBTAIN A PERSONAL POLICY OF LIFE 
INSURANCE ON YOUR OWN LIFE, we will pay Death Benefits only if that policy is returned to us 
without any claim. In such case an amount equal to the premiums paid on the personal policy will be 
given to the Beneficiary. 

 

Form G.23000-1B1-A 
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RIGHT TO OBTAIN A PERSONAL POLICY 
OF LIFE INSURANCE ON YOUR OWN LIFE 

 
 
 
A. Application 
 

We will issue a personal policy of life insurance without disability or accidental death benefits to you if 
you apply for it in writing during the Application Period. The Application Period is the 31 day period after: 

 
1. the date your Life Benefits end because your employment ends or because you are no longer in a 

class which remains eligible for Life Benefits; or 
 

2. the date your Life Benefits end because This Plan ends, but only if your Life Benefits under This 
Plan have been in effect for at least 5 years; or 

 
3. the date This Plan is changed to end the Life Benefits for your class, but only if your Life Benefits 

under This Plan have been in effect for at least 5 years; or 
 

4. the date your Death Benefits end under CONTINUED DEATH BENEFITS DURING TOTAL 
DISABILITY if you do not then again become eligible for Life Benefits under This Plan. 

. 
For New Hampshire residents. If you are not given notice, in writing, of the Right To Obtain A 
Personal Policy of Life Insurance On Your Own Life at least 15 days before the end of the Application 
Period, you will have additional time in which to apply. You will then have 15 days from the date you 
are given the notice in which to apply. 

 
Proof that you are insurable is not required by us. 

 
B. Conditions 
 

The personal policy will be issued to you subject to these conditions: 
 

1. it will be on one of the forms then usually issued by us, except term insurance; and 
 

2. it will not take effect until after the Application Period ends; and 
 

3. the premium for the policy will be based on: 
 

a. the class of risk to which you belong; and 
 

b. your age on the effective date of the policy; and 
 

c. the form and amount of the policy; and 
 

4. if item A(1) applies to you, the amount of the policy will not be more than the amount of your Life 
Benefits on the date the Life Benefits end; and 

5. if item A(2) or item A(3) applies to you, the amount of the policy will not be more than the lesser of: 
  

a. the amount of your Life Benefits on the date the Life Benefits end, less any amount of life 
insurance for which you may be eligible under any group policy which takes effect within 31 
days after your Life Benefits end; and 

 
b. $5,000*. 

     
      *For New Hampshire residents this amount is $10,000. 
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6. if item A(4) applies to you, the amount of the policy will not be more than the amount of your Death 

Benefits on the date the Life Benefits end. 
 
C. If You Die During the Application Period 
 

If you die during the Application Period, we will pay a death benefit to the Beneficiary. The amount of the 
death benefit will be the highest amount of life insurance pursuant to item B(4) or B(5) or B(6) for which a 
personal policy could have been issued. This death benefit will be paid even if you did not apply for a 
personal policy. 
 
If you could have applied for a policy under item A(4) and you die within one year after your Life Benefits 
end, we must, within one year after your death, be given proof that: 

 
1. your Total Disability had continued from the date your Life Benefits ended to within 31 days of the 

date of your death; and 
 

2. your death occurred during the Application Period which applies to item A(4). 
 

 
Form G.23000-1A 
 
 

LIFE BENEFITS 
(On Account of Dependents) 

 
 
 
A. Coverage 
 

If a Dependent dies while Life Benefits are in effect for that Dependent, we will pay the amount of Life 
Benefits that is in effect for that Dependent on the date of that Dependent's death.  

 
B. Payment of Benefits 
 

The benefits will be paid to you if you survive the Dependent. The benefits will be paid to your estate if: 
 

1. that Dependent dies at the same time your death occurs; or 
 

2. that Dependent dies within 24 hours of your death. 
 

In any other instance the benefits will be paid at our option to one or more of the following persons who 
are related to that Dependent and who survive that Dependent: 

 
a. parent; c. brother and sister. 

 
b. child; 

 
If there is no surviving relative, the amount will be payable to the Dependent's estate. 

 
Any payment will discharge our liability for the amount so paid. 

 
C. Optional Types of Payment 
 

Payment of any amount of Life Benefits may be made in installments instead of one sum. Details on the 
payment options may be obtained from the Employer. 
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D. Suicide 
 

Life Benefits (On Account of Dependents) will not be paid if a Dependent commits suicide, while sane or 
insane, within 2 years from the effective date of this certificate. Instead we will pay an amount equal to 
any contributions paid, without interest, as set forth in Section B, Payment of Benefits. 

 
If a Dependent commits suicide, while sane or insane, more than 2 years after the effective date of this 
certificate, but within 2 years from the effective date of any increase in the amount of Life Benefits (On 
Account of Dependents), such increased amount will not be paid. Instead we will pay: 

 
a. an amount equal to all contributions paid for the increased amount, without interest, plus 

 
b. an amount equal to the amount of Life Benefits (On Account of Dependents) that was in effect on 

the day before the effective date of such increased amount, 
 

as set forth in Section B, Payment of Benefits. 
 

Form G.23000-7C 
 
 

ACCELERATED BENEFITS 
(On Account Of Your Dependent Spouse) 

 
 
 
A. Definitions 
 

"Meets the Requirements" means: 
 

1. your Dependent spouse's life span is drastically limited; and 
 

2. your Dependent spouse is expected to die within 6 months; and 
 

3. your Dependent spouse is not expected to recover. 
 

These must be certified by a Doctor and accepted by us. 
 
B. Coverage 
 

We will pay Accelerated Benefits to you if: 
 

1. you apply for Accelerated Benefits while LIFE BENEFITS (On Account of Dependents) on account 
of your spouse are in effect; and 

 
2. your Dependent spouse Meets the Requirements while you are covered for LIFE BENEFITS (On 

Account of Dependents) on account of your spouse; and 
 
3. you request payment of Accelerated Benefits while LIFE BENEFITS (On Account of Dependents) 

on account of your spouse are in effect. 
 

Accelerated Benefits are payable only once. 
 

Payment of Accelerated Benefits will reduce the amount of LIFE BENEFITS (On Account of 
Dependents) on account of your spouse and the amount available for your Dependent spouse to convert 
to a personal policy of life insurance under RIGHT TO OBTAIN A PERSONAL POLICY OF LIFE 
INSURANCE ON THE LIFE OF A DEPENDENT. 
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C. Proof 
 

Accelerated Benefits will be payable when we receive proof that your Dependent spouse Meets the 
Requirements. 

 
Proof must be given to us. The proof must be in a form that is satisfactory to us. We have no duty to ask 
for any proof. Any delay in submitting proof will not cause a claim to be denied so long as the proof is 
given as soon as reasonably possible. 

 
At the time that such proof is given, we may have your Dependent spouse examined by Doctors of our 
choice, at our expense. 

 
D. Amount 
 

The amount of Accelerated Benefits payable is: 
 

1. up to 50% of your LIFE BENEFITS (On Account of Dependents) on account of your spouse as 
shown in the SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS 

 
REDUCED BY 

 
a discount for the mortality and interest (*) for the actuarially determined life span, and 

 
MINUS 

 
an administrative charge; and 

 
2. determined as of the date we accept certification that your Dependent spouse Meets the 

Requirements; and 
 

3. no more than $250,000. 
 

(*) The interest rate used shall be the Moody's Corporate Bond Yield Averages - Monthly Average 
Corporates - published by Moody's Investors Service, Inc., or any successor thereto for the 
calendar month ending two months before the date you apply for an Accelerated Benefit. 

 
If the LIFE BENEFITS (On Account of Dependents) on account of your spouse are scheduled to reduce 
within six months of such certification date, we will, for the purpose of determining the amount of 
Accelerated Benefits, deem the amount of the LIFE BENEFITS (On Account of Dependents) on account 
of your spouse to have already been reduced on such certification date. 

 
After payment of the Accelerated Benefits, the amount of the LIFE BENEFITS (On Account of 
Dependents) on account of your spouse will be: 

 
1. the amount of LIFE BENEFITS (On Account of Dependents) on account of your spouse actually in 

effect on the certification date; less 
 

2. the amount of Accelerated Benefits requested. 
 

When the scheduled reduction date occurs, the amount of LIFE BENEFITS (On Account of Dependents) 
on account of your spouse will be reduced. The amount of such reduction will be determined by applying 
the percentage in accordance with the provisions of This Plan to the amount of the LIFE BENEFITS (On 
Account of Dependents) on account of your spouse actually in effect on the certification date. 
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After such scheduled reduction, the amount of the LIFE BENEFITS (On Account of Dependents) on 
account of your spouse will be the amount of the LIFE BENEFITS (On Account of Dependents) on 
account of your spouse actually in effect on the certification date: 

 
REDUCED BY 

 
the amount of such scheduled reduction; and 

 
MINUS 

 
the amount of Accelerated Benefits requested. 

 
Accelerated Benefits will be payable if you are living when payment is made. 

 
For Texas Residents:  Upon receipt of your claim form we will send you a Preadjudication letter 
containing specific information on the payment you requested. Such information will include the 
amount of payment which will be made and the amount of Dependent Life Benefit remaining after 
payment of the Accelerated Benefit. 

 
E. Exclusions 
 

Accelerated Benefits will not be payable if: 
 
1. your Dependent spouse Meets the Requirements as a result of: 
 

a.    attempted suicide; or      
 
b.    injuring oneself on purpose; or 

 
c.    alcohol or drug abuse; or 

 
d.    a war, or a warlike action in time of peace; or 

 
   e.    any event occurring while you are in violation of criminal law; or  
 
2. the amount of LIFE BENEFITS (On Account of Dependents) on account of you spouse is less  

than $10,000. 
 
 

Form G.23000-36A  
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RIGHT TO OBTAIN A PERSONAL POLICY 
OF LIFE INSURANCE ON THE LIFE 

OF A DEPENDENT 
 

 
 
A. Application 
 

We will issue a personal policy of life insurance without disability or accidental death benefits to a 
Dependent if that Dependent applies for it in writing during the Application Period. The Application Period 
is the 31 day period after the date the Life Benefits on that Dependent end because: 

 
1. your employment ends or you are no longer in a class which remains eligible for Dependent Life 

Benefits; or 
 

2. This Plan ends, but only if the Life Benefits on that Dependent had been in effect under This Plan 
for at least 5 years; or 

 
3. This Plan is changed to end the Dependent Life Benefits for your class, but only if the Life Benefits 

on that Dependent had been in effect under This Plan for at least 5 years; or 
 

4. you die; or 
 

5. the Dependent no longer qualifies as a Dependent as defined in DEFINITIONS OF CERTAIN 
TERMS USED HEREIN. 

 
For New Hampshire residents. If the Dependent is not given notice, in writing, of the Right To Obtain 
A Personal Policy of Life Insurance On The Life of A Dependent at least 15 days before the end of 
the Application Period, that Dependent will have additional time in which to apply. The Dependent will 
then have 15 days from the date the Dependent is given the notice in which to apply. 

 
Proof that the Dependent is insurable is not required by us. 

 
B. Conditions 
 

The personal policy will be issued to the Dependent subject to these conditions: 
 

1. it will be on one of the forms then usually issued by us, except term insurance; and 
 

2. it will not take effect until after the Application Period ends; and 
 

3. the premium for the policy will be based on: 
 

a. the class of risk to which the Dependent belongs; and 
 

b. the Dependent's age on the effective date of the policy; and 
 

c. the form and the amount of the policy; and 
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4. if item A(2) or A(3) applies to the Dependent, the amount of the policy will not be more than the 
lesser of: 

 
a. the amount of Life Benefits on that Dependent on the date the Life Benefits end, less any 

amount of life insurance on the life of that Dependent for which you or the Dependent may be 
eligible under any group policy which takes effect within 31 days after the Life Benefits on that 
Dependent end; and 

 
b. $5,000*; and 

 
*For New Hampshire residents this amount is $10,000. 

 
5. if an item in paragraph A, other than item A(2) or A(3), applies to the Dependent, the amount of the 

policy will not be more than the amount of Life Benefits on that Dependent on the date the Life 
Benefits end. 

 
C. If the Dependent Dies During the Application Period 
 

If the Dependent dies during the Application Period, we will pay a death benefit. The payment of the 
death benefit will be in the same manner as if the Life Benefits on that Dependent had been in effect on 
the date of that Dependent's death. The amount of the death benefit will be the highest amount of life 
insurance, pursuant to item B(4) or B(5) for which a personal policy could have been issued. This death 
benefit will be paid even if the Dependent did not apply for a personal policy. 

 

Form G.23000-7A 
 
 

BENEFICIARY 
 
 
 
A. Your Beneficiary 
 

The "Beneficiary" is the person or persons you choose to receive any benefit payable because of your 
death. 

 
You make your choice in writing on a form approved by us. This form must be filed with the records for 
This Plan. 

 
You may change the Beneficiary at any time by filing a new form with the Employer. You do not need the 
consent of the Beneficiary to make a change. When the Employer receives a form changing the 
Beneficiary, the change will take effect as of the date you signed it. The change of Beneficiary will take 
effect even if you are not alive when it is received. 

 
A change of Beneficiary will not apply to any payment made by us prior to the date the form was 
received by the Employer. 

 
Your choice of a Beneficiary for a personal policy issued under RIGHT TO OBTAIN A PERSONAL 
POLICY OF LIFE INSURANCE ON YOUR OWN LIFE will be effective for This Plan. 

 
B. More Than One Beneficiary 
 

If, when you die, more than one person is your Beneficiary, they will share in the benefits equally, unless 
you have chosen otherwise. 
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C. Death of a Beneficiary 
 
A person's rights as a Beneficiary end if: 

 
1. that person dies before your death occurs; or 

 
2. that person dies at the same time your death occurs; or 

 
3. that person dies within 24 hours of your death. 

 
The share for that person will be divided among the surviving persons you have named as Beneficiary, 
unless you have chosen otherwise. 

 
D. No Beneficiary at Your Death 
 

If there is no Beneficiary at your death for any amount of benefits payable because of your death, that 
amount will be paid to one or more of the following persons who are related to you and who survive you: 

 
1. spouse; 3. parent; 
 
2. child;  4. brother and sister. 

 
However, we may instead pay all or part of that amount to your estate. 

 
Any payment will discharge our liability for the amount so paid. 

 

Form G.23000-G 
 
 

WHEN BENEFITS END 
 
 
 
A. All of your benefits will end on the date your employment ends. Your employment ends when you cease 

Active Work as an Employee. However, for the purpose of benefits, the Employer may deem your 
employment to continue for certain absences. See CONDITIONS UNDER WHICH YOUR ACTIVE 
WORK IS DEEMED TO CONTINUE. 

 
B. If This Plan ends in whole or in part, your benefits which are affected will end. 
 
C. Your Dependent Life Benefits will end on the earliest of: 
 

1. with respect to your Dependent spouse, the date such Dependent spouse attains age 70; or 
 

2. the date that the Dependent ceases to be your Dependent; or 
 

3. the date you retire, as determined by the Employer; or 
 

4. the date of your death. 
 
D. If a Covered Person does not make a payment which is required by the Employer to the cost of any 

benefits, those benefits will end; they will end on the last day of the period for which a payment required 
by the Employer was made. 
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The end of any type of benefits on account of a Covered Person will not affect a claim which is incurred 
before those benefits ended. 
 
PORTABILITY 
 
For purposes of this subsection, the term "Portability Eligible Insurance for you" refers to Optional Life 
Insurance. 
 
You may request in writing during the Request Period specified below to continue Portability Eligible 
Insurance for you under another group policy if such insurance ends because: 
 

• your employment ends; or 
• you cease to be in a class that is eligible for such insurance. 

 
If a request is made under this subsection, we will issue a new certificate of insurance which will 
explain the new insurance benefits. The insurance benefits under the new certificate may not be the 
same as those that ended under the Group Policy. 

 
A request for portability may be made, if on the date of the request, the following requirements are 
met: 

 
• the Group Policy is in effect; 

 
• We have not received notice from the Employer of its intent to end the Group Policy; 

 
• no application has been made to convert the insurance that is to be continued to an 

individual policy of life insurance as provided in the section entitled RIGHT TO OBTAIN A 
PERSONAL POLICY OF LIFE INSURANCE ON YOUR OWN LIFE; and 

 
• The person making the request resides in a jurisdiction that permits portability. 

 
 
Request Period 
 
To continue Portability Eligible Insurance for you under a different group policy, we must receive a 
completed request form within the Request Period described below. 
 
If written notice of the option to continue Portability Eligible Insurance for you is given within 15 days 
before or after the date such insurance ends, the Request Period begins on the date the insurance ends 
and expires 31 days after such date. 
 
If written notice of the option to continue Portability Eligible Insurance for you is given more than 15 days 
after but within 90 days of the date such insurance ends, the Request Period begins on the date the 
insurance ends and expires 45 days after the date of the notice. 
 
If written notice of the option to continue Portability Eligible Insurance for you is not given within 90 days 
after the date such insurance ends, the Request Period begins on the date the insurance ends and 
expires at the end of such 90 day period. 
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Amount of the New Certificate 
 
The maximum amount of Optional Life Insurance which may be continued is the lesser of: 
 

• The total amount of all such insurance for you in effect immediately prior to the date it ends; 
and 

 
• $1,000,000. 

 
Right to Convert Life Insurance Amounts Not Continued 
 
Any amount of Life Insurance not continued under this subsection may be converted under the section 
entitled RIGHT TO OBTAIN A PERSONAL POLICY OF LIFE INSURANCE ON YOUR OWN LIFE. 
 
Premiums for the New Certificate 
 
When a request to continue Portability Eligible Insurance for you is made under this subsection, the first 
premium must be paid during the Request Period.  All premium payments must be made directly to us.  
When we issue the new certificate, we will also provide a schedule of premiums and payment 
instructions. 
 
If You Die Within 31 Days of the Date Your Life Insurance Ends  
 
If you die within 31 days of the date your life insurance ends and we have not received an application for 
a new certificate under this section, we will pay Life Insurance in accordance with the section entitled 
RIGHT TO OBTAIN A PERSONAL POLICY OF LIFE INSURANCE ON YOUR OWN LIFE.  If an 
application for a new certificate was received by us during such time period, we will only pay benefits for 
the Portability Eligible Insurance for which you applied for in accordance with this subsection.  
 
If You are Totally Disabled on the Date Your Employment Ends. 
 
If you are Totally Disabled on the date your employment ends and you elect to continue Portability Eligible 
Insurance for you as provided in this subsection, you may at a later date become approved for the 
continuation of such insurance under the section entitled CONTINUED DEATH BENEFITS DURING 
TOTAL DISABILITY.  If you are so approved, any insurance described in, applied for, or issued under this 
subsection will end and we will return any premium paid by you for such insurance. 
 
OPTION TO CONVERT 
 
In addition to the continuation of insurance option described above, you may have the right to convert to a 
policy of individual life insurance. We urge you to read the section entitled RIGHT TO OBTAIN A 
PERSONAL POLICY OF LIFE INSURANCE ON YOUR OWN LIFE. 
 

Form G.23000-F 
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CONDITIONS UNDER WHICH YOUR ACTIVE 

WORK IS DEEMED TO CONTINUE 
 
 
 
If you are not Actively at Work as an Employee because of a situation set forth below, the Employer may 
deem you to be in Active Work as an Employee only for the purpose of continuing your employment and only 
for the periods specified below in order that certain of your benefits under This Plan may be continued. 
 
All such benefits will be subject to prior cessation as set forth in WHEN BENEFITS END. 
 
In any case, the benefits will end on: 
 
1. the date the Employer notifies us that your benefits are not to be continued; or 
 
2. the end of the last period for which the Employer has paid premiums to us for your benefits. 
 
Your Sickness or Injury, Your Leave of Absence, Your Lay Off 
 
With respect to all Personal Benefits and all Dependent Benefits, the period determined in accordance with 
the Employer's general practice for an Employee in your job class. However, the period will not be longer 
than two months following the date the leave of absence or layoff begins. 
 
However, in the event the leave qualifies under the Family and Medical Leave Act of 1993 (FMLA), the period 
cannot be longer than 12 weeks in any 12 month period following the date the leave of absence begins. 
 
Your Retirement 
 
With respect to all Personal Benefits on and after the date of your retirement, for the period determined in 
accordance with the Employer’s general practices for an Employee in your job class. 
 

Form G.23000-L 
 
 

NOTICES 
 
 
 
This certificate is of value to you. It should be kept in a safe place. Your Beneficiary should know where the 
certificate is kept. 
 
As soon as your benefits end, you should consult your Employer to find out what rights, if any, you may have 
to continue your protection. 
 
Our Home Office is located at One Madison Avenue, New York, New York 10010. 
 

Form G.23000-E 



 

 

THIS IS THE END OF THE CERTIFICATE. THE FOLLOWING IS ADDITIONAL INFORMATION. 



 

 

 
 

CLAIMS INFORMATION 
 
 
 

Procedures for Presenting Claims for Life Benefits 
 
All claim forms needed to file for benefits under the group insurance program can be obtained from the 
Employer who will also be ready to answer questions about the insurance benefits and to assist you or, if 
applicable, your beneficiary in filing claims. 
 

 Life Benefits Claims 
 
Routine Questions  
 
If there is any question about a claim payment, an explanation may be requested from the Employer who is 
usually able to provide the necessary information.  
 
Claim Submission 
 
In submitting claims for Life benefits ("Benefits"), the claimant must complete the appropriate claim form and 
submit the required proof as described in the certificate.   
 
Claim forms must be submitted in accordance with the instructions on the claim form. 
 
Initial Determination 
 
After MetLife receives your claim for Benefits, MetLife will review your claim and notify you of its decision to 
approve or deny your claim.   
 
Such notification will be provided to you within a reasonable period, not to exceed 90 days from the date we 
received your claim, unless MetLife notifies you within that period that there are special circumstances 
requiring an extension of time of up to 90 additional days.  
 
If MetLife denies your claim in whole or in part, the notification of the claims decision will state the reason why 
your claim was denied and reference the specific Plan provision(s) on which the denial is based.  If the claim 
is denied because MetLife did not receive sufficient information, the claims decision will describe the 
additional information needed and explain why such information is needed.  The notification will also include 
a description of the Plan review procedures and time limits, including a statement of your right to bring a civil 
action if your claim is denied after an appeal. 
 
Appealing the Initial Determination 
 
In the event a claim has been denied in whole or in part, you or, if applicable, your beneficiary can request a 
review of your claim by MetLife. This request for review should be sent in writing to Group Insurance Claims 
Review at the address of MetLife's office which processed the claim within 60 days after you or, if applicable, 
your beneficiary received notice of denial of the claim. When requesting a review, please state the reason 
you or, if applicable, your beneficiary believe the claim was improperly denied and submit in writing any 
written comments, documents, records or other information you or, if applicable, your beneficiary deem 
appropriate.  Upon your written request, MetLife will provide you free of charge with copies of relevant 
documents, records and other information. 
 
MetLife will re-evaluate all the information, will conduct a full and fair review of the claim, and you or, if 
applicable, your beneficiary will be notified of the decision.  Such notification will be provided within a 
reasonable period not to exceed 60 days from the date we received your request for review, unless MetLife 
notifies you within that period that there are special circumstances requiring an extension of time of up to 60 
additional days. 



 

 

 
If MetLife denies the claim on appeal, MetLife will send you a final written decision that states the reason(s) 
why the claim you appealed is being denied, references any specific Plan provision(s) on which the denial is 
based, any voluntary appeal procedures offered by the Plan, and a statement of your right to bring a civil 
action if your claim is denied after an appeal.  Upon written request, MetLife will provide you free of charge 
with copies of documents, records and other information relevant to your claim.  
 

Discretionary Authority of Plan Administrator 
and Other Plan Fiduciaries 

 
In carrying out their respective responsibilities under the Plan, the Plan Administrator and other Plan 
fiduciaries shall have discretionary authority to interpret the terms of the Plan and to determine eligibility for 
and entitlement to Plan benefits in accordance with the terms of the Plan. Any interpretation or determination 
made pursuant to such discretionary authority shall be given full force and effect, unless it can be shown that 
the interpretation or determination was arbitrary and capricious. 
 

 
                

 
FUTURE OF THE PLAN 

 
It is hoped that the Plan will be continued indefinitely, but Milwaukee County reserves the right to change or 
terminate the Plan in the future. Any such action would be taken only after careful consideration. 
 
The Board of Directors of Milwaukee County shall be empowered to amend or terminate the Plan or any 
benefit under the Plan at any time. 
 



 
 

Metropolitan Life Insurance Company 
200 Park Avenue, New York, New York 10166 

 
 

 
CERTIFICATE RIDER 
 
Group Policy No.: 104177-G 
 
Policyholder: Milwaukee County 
 
Effective Date: January 1, 2011 
 
The certificate is changed as follows: 
 
Applicable to Life Benefits certificate 
 
1. In the SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS, replace BENEFITS (EMPLOYEES ONLY), with the following: 

 
“BENEFITS (EMPLOYEE ONLY) AMOUNT
 
BASIC LIFE ........................................................................      An amount equal to 1 times your basic annual earnings, as 

determined by your Employer, rounded to the next higher 
$1,000  

OPTIONAL LIFE: 
 
Less than $100,000 ............................................................      Multiples of $10,000 
 
$100,000 to $200,000 ........................................................      Multiples of $25,000 
 
NOTE: 
 
If Your amount of Optional Life Benefits in effect on January 1, 2011 is not a multiple of $10,000, such amount will be 
increased to the next higher $10,000. 
 
 
Total Combined Maximum Benefit  
of Basic and Optional Life Benefits………………………….      $1,000,000  
 
 
See pages hereof entitled ACCELERATED BENEFITS (ON YOUR OWN ACCOUNT). 
 
You may request payment of an Accelerated Benefit from your Basic or Optional Life Benefits or from both. If you elect 
payment from both your Basic and Optional Life Benefits, the Accelerated Benefits payment will be determined in 
accordance with the pages hereof entitled ACCELERATED BENEFITS (On Your Own Account), but not more than 
$250,000 will be payable for Basic Life and not more than $250,000 for Optional Life.” 
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2. In the SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS, delete the following from IF YOU ARE AGE 65 OR OLDER: 
 
“The amounts of your Optional Life Benefits on or after age 65 will be determined in accordance with the following chart: 
 
Optional Life 

Amount 
Age 60 but  

under Age 65 
Age 65 but  

under Age 70 
Age 70 but  

under Age 75 
Age 75 but  

under Age 80 
Age 80  

and over 

5000 3300 2100 1400 900 600 
7000 4600 3000 2000 1300 900 
9000 5900 3800 2500 1700 1100 
11000 7200 4700 3000 2000 1300 
13000 8500 5500 3600 2400 1600 
15000 9800 6300 4100 2700 1800 
17000 11100 7200 4600 3100 2100 
19000 12400 8000 5200 3500 2300 
20000 13000 8400 5400 3600 2400 
25000 16300 10500 6800 4500 3000 
30000 19500 12600 8100 5400 3600 
35000 22800 14700 9500 6300 4200 
40000 26000 16800 10800 7200 4800 
45000 29300 18900 12200 8100 5400 
50000 32500 21000 13500 9000 6000 
60000 39000 25200 16200 10800 7200 
70000 45500 29400 18900 12600 8400 
80000 52000 33600 21600 14400 9600 
90000 58500 37800 24300 16200 10800 
100000 65000 42000 27000 18000 15000 
125000 81300 52500 33800 22500 15000 
150000 97500 63000 40500 27000 18000 
175000 113800 73500 47300 31500 21000 
200000 130000 84000 54000 36000 24000” 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
This rider is to be attached to and made part of the certificate. 
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