
 
 
 
 
 
 

Texting While Driving  
 
Effective December 1st, 2010, Wisconsin Act 220 creates 346.89(3)(a) 
which states that no person may drive, as defined in s. 343.305 (1) (b), any 
motor vehicle while composing or sending an electronic text message or an 
electronic mail message. 

Wisconsin joins 30 other states in enacting this legislation. 
 
This is a primary law just like the seat belt law.  Law enforcement officers 
can stop a driver for soley texting.  First-time violators of this new law will 
be fined between $20 - $400 and assessed four points for this violation.  
Second-time violators will be fined between $200-$400. 
 
Individuals who text while driving are more than 20 times more likely to be 
involved in a crash than other drivers. 

 
Anything that diverts your attention away from the primary task of driving is 
a distraction. But “Texting While Driving” is a dangerous distraction in 
three ways: 

• Visual — Takes your eyes off the road.  
• Cognitive — Takes your mind off the road.  
• Manual — Takes your hands off the wheel.  

 
This makes it much more deadly than hands-free cell phone usage, 

loud music, or other in-car activities. 
 
Related links: 
 
2009 Wisconsin Act 220 
 
PSA Texting While Driving UK  
(The content in the video is graphic in nature and may not be suitable for young viewers.) 

http://www.law.wisc.edu/rcid/legislativeaction/09act220.pdf
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R0LCmStIw9E
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