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WHAT IS AN EVICTION? 
An eviction is the removal of a tenant by the landlord from a rental property. Landlords may evict 
tenants who do not pay rent, pay partial rent, or late rent. Also, tenants may be evicted if the 
dwelling is declared a nuisance by law enforcement. 
 

IN WISCONSIN A TENANT CAN ONLY BE EVICTED 
BY A COURT ORDER ISSUED BY A JUDGE OR COURT COMMISSIONER 

 
TYPES OF NOTICES & SELECTING THE PROPER NOTICE 
All eviction actions begin with a properly served notice to vacate. In Wisconsin the notices 
typically used are 5-, 14-, and 28-day notices. 
 

SERVING THE NOTICE 
 

It is very important to properly serve the 5-, 14-, or 28-day notice. The most common cause of a 
landlord losing an eviction is improper service of the notice. There are four basic methods: 
 

1. Personal delivery to someone at the premises – giving the notice to the 
tenants; giving a copy to a family member who is at least 14 years of age, 
and telling them it is an eviction; leaving a copy with an occupant over 14 
years of age, and also mailing a copy by regular mail to the tenant. 

2. Service by certified mail – if you choose this method, add two (2) days to 
the time period. 

3. Service by securely posting the notice on the entrance door and mailing 
the notice by regular mail the same day. 

4. Service via the Milwaukee County Sheriff's Office ($60 charge) via a Civil 
Process Unit deputy attempting service on the papers. 

 
PREPARING FOR COURT 

 
After the expiration of the notice, the first step is to complete the following forms: 
 

 AN EVICTION SUMMONS 
 COMPLAINT FORM 
 AFFIDAVIT OF NON-MILITARY SERVICE FORM 
 You will need 5 copies 

 
** If you start the case before the notice has expired, the case will be dismissed and 
you will need to start over. 
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Once all forms are correctly filled out, go to Room 104 of the Milwaukee County Courthouse, 
901 N. 9th Street to pay the court fee. The fee is approximately $99.00 and includes: 
 
 Forms being notarized, if not already done; 
 Case number issued; 
 A court date being issued. The cashier will keep the original for the court file. The clerk 

will place a case number and file stamp on all of the copies. 
 

SERVING THE SUMMONS AND COMPLAINT 
 

Serving the Summons and Complaint is slightly different than serving the 5-, 14-, or 28-day 
notices. The Summons and Complaint must be served by a third person, who is not a party to 
the action, who is at least 18 years of age and a resident of the State of Wisconsin. The 
Summons and Complaint must be served no less than 5 days before the court date; weekends 
and holidays do not count. 
 
There are a number of private process firms that can also serve the Summons and Complaints. 
The Milwaukee County Sheriff's Office can attempt service of the notice. The fee is $60.00 for a 
maximum of 3 attempts unless otherwise notified. 
 
Once the Summons and Complaint has been served, the person who served it must fill out an 
Affidavit of Service form. Bring the original copy of the Affidavit of Service to court with 
you.  
 
**If you cannot find the tenant, you can have the information published, normally in the “Daily 
Reporter” newspaper** 
 

AFTER COURT 
 

Step One 
If the Court rules in your favor for the eviction, you will be given an “Order” for a Writ of 
Restitution. After getting the Order, you must go to Room G-9 of the Milwaukee County 
Courthouse (901 N. 9th Street) to obtain the “Writ of Restitution”. The fee for this is $5.00 (Note: 
these are two separate forms). 
 
Step Two 
Take the Order, the Writ, an extra set of keys (if you prefer) and a Letter of Authority, (which is 
a letter from a certified, bonded mover, with a storage facility in Milwaukee County) to the 
Milwaukee County Sheriff’s Office Cashier located in the Safety Building, 821 W. State Street 
(Room 102 Window #6), along with a money order, cashier’s check for $125 made payable to 
the Milwaukee County Sheriff's Office. Cash and credit cards are also accepted. 
 
As of March 2014 a new law passed stating that a landlord does not need to hire a bonded 
mover, however the Sheriff still needs to assist in the removal of the tenants.  If the landlord 
chooses this approach then they are responsible for all property and proper storage guidelines. 
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 Letter of Authority is a letter indicating that you have contracted with one of the 
bonded moving companies used by the Sheriff’s Office. These companies are: 

 
 Aetna Moving & Storage, Inc.   ~ (414) 645-9300 
 Eagle Moving & Storage, Co.   ~ (414) 383-1776 
 J.C. Triplett & Sons Moving & Storage ~ (414) 353-9780 

 
Step Three 
The Sheriff’s Office will then mail the tenant a notice. The Milwaukee County Sheriff's Office has 
ten business days to move the tenant from the date that the paperwork was turned over to the 
Cashier. If the tenant moves prior to the Milwaukee County Sheriff's Office executing the move, 
immediately call the eviction cancellation line at (414) 278-5123 to cancel the move. This will 
save money, minus the cancellation fees. The Sheriff’s Office will contact the landlord on the 
day of the move so please provide contact telephone number(s) to the Sheriff’s Office. 
 

ANY QUESTIONS – PLEASE CONTACT 
 

1. (414)   278-4140 – Milwaukee County Clerk of Courts, Civil Division 
2. (414) 278-5030 – Milwaukee County Office of the Sheriff, Countywide 

Services Bureau 
3. Attend the Self Help Clinic, Thursdays and Fridays beginning at 1:30 pm in 

the Milwaukee Justice Center located at 901 N. 9th Street, Room G-9 
(Milwaukee County Courthouse). 

4. Consult with an attorney for legal advice 
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