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. POLICY

According to Wisconsin Statute 48.981(2), Wraparound Milwaukee / REACH Care Coordinators, FISS
Case Managers and O-YEAH Transition Specialists are considered to be Mandatory Reporters. If the Care
Coordinator, Case Manager or Transition Specialist has reasonable cause to suspect (either through
observation, child’s self report or other parties’ report) that a child seen by the person in the course of
professional duties has been abused or neglected, has been threatened with abuse or neglect and that abuse
or neglect of the child will occur, shall report that immediately to the Bureau of Milwaukee Child Welfare
(see Attachment 1 — Mandatory Reporting of Child Abuse & Neglect and Attachment 2 — Wis. Statute
48.981(2)(a)(2m)(2r) Children’s Code).

1. PROCEDURE

A. The Wraparound Milwaukee / REACH Care Coordinator should discuss his/her role as a Mandatory
Reporter with all families upon enrollment.

B. The Care Coordinator must report suspected, reported or observed neglect and/or physical,
sexual and emotional abuse by calling 220-SAFE (7233) and the police immediately.

C. The Care Coordinator must report suspected, reported or observed abuse that occurs in any setting
(i.e., home, treatment foster care, group care, residential, school or community) even if that
facility/agency indicates they have reported the incident or are investigating it.

D. The Care Coordinator should inform the family of his/her intention to make a referral as soon as
possible. The Care Coordinator should explain the process and potential investigation.

E. The Care Coordinator must complete and submit a Critical Incident Report form (see Policy #014 —
Critical Incident Reporting) within 24 hours of the incident (when abuse has been reported or
observed), as well as a Progress Note.
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S he Wisconsin Coalition Against Sexual Assault Information Sheet Series

Mandatory Reporting of Child Abuse & Neglect

The State of Wisconsin requiresindividua swho work in certain professionsto report child abuseand neglect.
With someexceptions, any of thefollowing individua swho * has reasonabl e cause to suspect that achild seen
by the personin the course of professional duties hasbeen abused or neglected or who hasreason to believe
that achild seen by the person in the course of professional duties has been threatened with abuse or neglect
and that abuse or neglect of the child will occur” must report asdescribed below [ See Wis. Stat. sec.
48.981(2)(a)]. Every new instance of child abuse or neglect must bereported. Reportersare protected from
dischargefor reporting child abuse. Reportsmust be madeto law enforcement, the child welfare agency
(CWA), or child protective services (CPS) agency. Law enforcement must refer al reportsto CWA or CPS
agencieswithin 12 hours. CWA or CPS agenciesmust refer reports of sexual abuseto law enforcement within
12 hoursand must a so develop apolicy regarding referral sfor other typesof abuse. Theseagenciesare
required to collaborate with each other when investigating sexual abuse.

Who Must Report? Wis. Stat. 48.981(2)(a)1 liststhefollowing individual s as mandated reporters:

* Physdan * Public assistanceworker, including afinancia and
 Coroner employment planner, asdefined in s. 49.141(1)(d)

* Medicd examiner » Member of thetreatment staff employed by or working under
* Nurse contract with acounty department under s. 46.26, 51.42, or
* Dentigt 51.437

e Chiropractor * Marriageand family therapist

* Optometrist * Professiona counselor

* Occupationd therapist * Day careprovider

* Dididan * Speech-language pathologist

» Audiologig » Emergency medica technician

* Acupuncturist * Count appointed specia advocate

* Physical therapist & PT assistant * Policeor law enforcement officer

» Alcohal or other drug abuse counselor * Child careworker inaday care center, group homeas

» Medical or mental health professional described ins. 48.625(1m), or residential care center for

* Socia worker children and youth

* Mediator under s. 767.11 » School teacher, school administrator, school counselor

* First responder * Clergy (Seesection below.)

What is Reportable Child Abuse? Wis. Stat. sec. 48.02(1)
« Physical abuseinflicted on achild by non-accidental means, serious physical harminflicted on an unborn
child, and therisk of seriousphysica harm to achild when born, caused by the habitual lack of self-control of
the expectant mother in the use of alcoholic beverages, controlled substances, or controlled substance anal ogs,
exhibited to aseveredegree.
» Sexual abuse, defined as:

° Sexual intercourseor sexua contact under s. 940.225, 948.02, or 948.025 (sexual assault, sexual

assault of achild, and repeated acts of sexual assault of the same child)

° Sexual exploitation of achild

° Causingachildtoview or listento sexual activity

° Permitting, allowing, or encouraging achildto engagein progtitution

° Exposing genitalsor pubic area
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» Emotional damagefor which the child’'sparent, guardian, or legal custodian has neglected, refused, or
been unablefor reasons other than poverty to obtain the necessary treatment or to take stepstorelieve
the symptoms.
* Neglectisthe*failure, refusal or inability onthe part of aparent, guardian, legal custodian, or other person
exercising temporary or permanent control over achild, for reasonsother than poverty, to provide necessary
care, food, clothing, medical or dental careor shelter so asto serioudy endanger the physical health of the child”
[Wis. Stat. sec. 48.981(1)(d)].

Notably, actsthat would constitute the crime of sexual intercoursewith achild age 16 or over are not reportable
abuse, but actsthat would congtitute sexual assault under Wis. Stat. sec. 940.225 arereportable child abuse.
Wis. Stat. sec. 940.225 describesthe acts of sexua contact or intercourse with another person without consent,
with aperson incapabl e of giving consent, or between peoplein certain relationships, such asinmate-guard.

Exceptionsto Reporting Requirements: Wis. Stat. sec. 48.981(2m)

The State of Wisconsin carved out an exception to reporting requirementsto alow childrento obtain
confidentia health care services. Hedth care servicesmeansfamily planning servicesasdefined by law,
pregnancy testing, obstetrical health care or screening, and diagnosisor treatment for asexudly transmitted
infection. For purposesof thisexception, health care providersinclude physicians, physician ass stants, and
registered or licensed nurses.

The exception applieswhen one of these persons providesahealth care serviceto achild or when amandatory
reporter obtainsinformation about achild whoisreceiving or hasreceived health care servicesfrom one of
these persons. However, thisexceptionisnot absolute. A report isrequired in spite of the exception whenever
thehealth care provider suspectsany of thefollowing:

 Thesexual intercourse or sexual contact occurred or islikely to occur with acaregiver.

* Thechild suffered or suffersfrom amental illnessor mental deficiency that rendered or rendersthechild
temporarily or permanently incapable of understanding or eval uating the consequences of hisor her actions.

» Thechild, because of age/immaturity, wasor isincapable of understanding the nature or consequences of
sexual intercourse or sexual contact.

» Thechildwasunconsciousat thetime of theact or for any other reason was physically unableto communicate
unwillingnessto engagein sexual intercourse or sexua contact.

* Another participant in the sexual contact or sexua intercoursewasor isexploiting the child.

* Thereisany reasonable doubt that the child'sparticipationin the sexua contact or intercoursewasvoluntary.

Clergy Mandatory Reporting Provisions

Asof May 1, 2004, clergy are mandatory reportersof child sexual abuse. Under these provisions, areportis
required if aclergyperson hasreasonabl e causeto suspect that achild seeninthe course of theclergyperson’s
professiona dutieswas sexually abused or wasthreatened with sexual abuse and sexual abuseislikely to occur.
Further, areport isaso required if aclergyperson hasreasonable causeto believe, “ based on observations
made or informationthat he or shereceives,” that achild hasbeen sexually abused or has been threatened with
sexual abuse and sexual abuseislikely to occur. However, “[a] member of theclergy isnot required to report
child abuseinformation. . . that he or shereceives soldly through confidential communicationsmadeto him or
her privately or inaconfessiona setting if heor sheisauthorized to hear or isaccustomed to hearing such
communicationsand, under the disciplines, tenets, or traditionsof hisor her religion, hasaduty or isexpected to
keep those communi cations secret. Thosedisciplines, tenets, or traditionsneed not beinwriting.” Wis. Stat.
sec. 49.981(2)(bm)(3).



Are Saff at Sexual Assault Service Provider Agencies Mandated Reporters?

Under Wisconsinlaw, staff of sexual assault service provider (SA SP) agenciesare not mandated reporters.
However, individualswho work at these agencies may be mandated reportersdueto their profession, such as
licensed social workers, etc. Many agencies, through agency policy or dueto grant requirements, have adopted
thesereporting guidelinesfor al staff. A minor concerned about mandatory reporting and seeking servicesat a
SASPshould ask for acopy of theagency’sreporting policy.

For further information, see WCA SA'sinformation sheets on sexual assault laws, child sexual assault laws, child
pornography laws, and the WCA SA information sheet onteens.

This information sheet was compiled in 2004 by the Wisconsin Coalition Against Sexual Assault (WCASA). WCASA is a membership
organization of sexual assault service providers, other organizations, and individuals throughout Wisconsin working to end sexual violence.
For information sheets on other topics or to become a member contact WCASA, 600 Williamson &., Suite N-2, Madison, WI 53703,
(608)257-1516, www.wcasa.org. For more information about sexual assault or to receive support with a sexual assault experience, contact
your local sexual assault program. This sheet may be reproduced in its original format only. This information does not constitute legal
advice.
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(b) The department may promulgate rules to implement this
section. If the department promulgates those rules, those rules
shall include rules establishing all of the following:

1. Training requirements for the staff of an organization,
including training in identifying children who have been abused
or neglected and the laws and procedures under s. 48.981 govern-
ing the reporting of suspected or threatened child abuse or neglect.

2. Screening and assessment requirements for a proposed
agent, including a screening of the personal characteristics,
health, and finances of the proposed agent and of the physical
environment and safety of the proposed agent’s home and, based
on that screening, an assessment of the proposed agent’s fitness to
provide for the care and custody of the child and ability to meet
the child’s needs. The rules promulgated under this subdivision
shall prohibit an organization from facilitating a delegation of the
care and custody of a child to a proposed agent unless the proposed
agent is it to provide for the care and custody of the child and able
to meet the child’s needs.

3. Training requirements for an agent, including the training
described in subd. 1. and training in the expectations of an agent
specified in subd. 4.

4. The expectations of an agent with respect to the care and
custody of the child, including expectations relating to the care,
nurturing, protection, training, guidance, and discipline of the
child; the provision of food, shelter, education, and health care for
the child; cooperation with the child’s parents in coparenting the
child; and cooperation with the organization in facilitating visita-
tion and other communications with the child’s parents and in
otherwise complying with the expectations of the organization.

5. A requirement that an organization regularly monitor an
agent and the child whose care and custody is delegated to the
agent and maintain communications with the child’s parents.

History: 2011 a. 87; correction in (2) (form) under 35.17.

SUBCHAPTER XX
MISCELLANEOUS PROVISIONS

48.98 Interstate placement of children. (1) No person
may bring a child into this state or send a child out of this state for
the purpose of placing the child in foster care or for the purpose
of adoption without a certificate from the department that the
home is suitable for the child.

(2) (a) Any person, except a county department or licensed
child welfare agency, who brings a child into this state for the pur-
pose of placing the child in a foster home shall, before the child’s
arrival in this state, file with the department a $1,000 noncancel-
able bond in favor of this state, furnished by a surety company
licensed to do business in this state. The condition of the bond
shall be that the child will not become dependent on public funds
for his or her primary support before the child reaches age 18 or
is adopted.

(b) By filing the bond required under par. (a), the person filing
the bond and the surety submit to the jurisdiction of the court in
the county in which the person resides for purposes of liability on
the bond, and appoint the clerk of the court as their agent upon
whom any papers affecting their bond liability may be served.

(c) If upon affidavit of the department it appears to the court
that the condition of the bond has been violated, the court shall
order the person who filed the bond and the surety to show cause
why judgment on the bond should not be entered for the depart-
ment. If neither the person nor the surety appears for the hearing
on the order to show cause, or if the court concludes after the hear-
ing that the condition of the bond has been violated, the court shall
enter judgment on the bond for the department against the person
who filed the bond and the surety.

(d) The department shall periodically bill the person who filed
the bond and the surety under s. 49.32 (1) (b) or49.345 for the cost
of care and maintenance of the child until the child is adopted or
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becomes age 18, whichever is earlier. The guardian and surety
shall also be liable under the bond for costs incurred by the depart-
ment in enforcing the bond.

(e) The department may waive the bond requirement under
par. (a).

(3) The person bringing or sending the child into or out of this
state shall report to the department, at least once each year and at
any other time required by the department, concerning the loca-
tion and well-being of the child, until the child is 18 years of age
or is adopted.

(4) (a) This section applies only to interstate placements of
children that are not governed by s. 48.988 or 48.99.

(b) Section 48.839 governs the placement of children who are
not U.S. citizens and not under agency guardianship who are
brought into this state from a foreign jurisdiction for the purpose
of adoption.

(5) The department may promulgate all rules necessary for the
enforcement of this section.

History: 1977 c. 354; 1979 ¢. 32'5. 92 (1); 1981 c. 81; 1985 a. 176; 1985 a. 332
s.251 (5); 1993 a. 446; 2007 a. 20; 2009 a. 28, 339.

48.981 Abused or neglected children and abused
unborn children. (1) DErINITIONS. In this section:

(ag) “Agency” means a county department, the department in
a county having a population of 500,000 or more or a licensed
child welfare agency under contract with a county department or
the department in a county having a population of 500,000 or more
to perform investigations under this section.

(am) “Caregiver” means, with respect to a child who is the vic-
tim or alleged victim of abuse or neglect or who is threatened with
abuse or neglect, any of the following persons:

1. The child’s parent, grandparent, greatgrandparent, steppar-
ent, brother, sister, stepbrother, stepsister, half brother, or half sis-
ter.

2. The child’s guardian.

3. The child’s legal custodian.

4. A person who resides or has resided regularly or intermit-
tently in the same dwelling as the child.

5. Anemployee of a residential facility or residential care cen-
ter for children and youth in which the child was or is placed.

6. A person who provides or has provided care for the child
in or outside of the child’s home.

7. Any other person who exercises or has exercised temporary
or permanent control over the child or who temporarily or perma-
nently supervises or has supervised the child.

8. Any relative of the child other than a relative specified in
subd. 1.

(b) “Community placement” means probation; extended
supervision; parole; aftercare; conditional transfer into the com-
munity under s. 51.35 (1); conditional transfer or discharge under
s.51.37 (9); placement in a Type 2 residential care center for chil-
dren and youth or a Type 2 juvenile correctional facility autho-
rized under s. 938.539 (5); conditional release under s. 971.17;
supervised release under s. 980.06 or 980.08; participation in the
community residential confinement program under s. 301.046,
the intensive sanctions program under s. 301.048, the corrective
sanctions program under s. 938.533, the intensive supervision
program under s. 938.534, or the serious juvenile offender pro-
gram under s. 938.538; or any other placement of an adult or juve-
nile offender in the community under the custody or supervision
of the department of corrections, the department of health ser-
vices, a county department under s. 46.215,46.22,46.23,51.42,
or 51.437 or any other person under contract with the department
of corrections, the department of health services or a county
department under s. 46.215, 46.22, 46.23, 51.42, or 51.437 to
exercise custody or supervision over the offender.

(ct) “Indian unborn child” means an unborn child who, when
born, may be eligible for affiliation with an Indian tribe in any of
the following ways:

*2009-10 Wis. Stats. database current through 2011 Wis. Act 286, except 2011 Wis. Act 230. Includes all updates to statutes in
effect on or prior to May 4, 2012. Statutory changes effective on or prior to May 4, 2012 are printed as currently in effect. Changes
effective after May 4, 2012 are designated by NOTES. See Are the Statutes on this Website Official?
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1. As a member of the Indian tribe.

2. As a person who is eligible for membership in an Indian
tribe and the biological child of a member of an Indian tribe.

(cv) “Member of a religious order” means an individual who
has taken vows devoting himself or herself to religious or spiritual
principles and who is authorized or appointed by his or her
religious order or organization to provide spiritual or religious
advice or service.

(cx) “Member of the clergy” has the meaning given in s.
765.002 (1) or means a member of a religious order, and includes
brothers, ministers, monks, nuns, priests, rabbis, and sisters.

(f) “Record” means any document relating to the investigation,
assessment and disposition of a report under this section.

(g) “Reporter” means a person who reports suspected abuse or
neglect or a belief that abuse or neglect will occur under this sec-
tion.

(h) “Subject” means a person or unborn child named in a report
or record as any of the following:

1. A child who is the victim or alleged victim of abuse or
neglect or who is threatened with abuse or neglect.

Im. An unborn child who is the victim or alleged victim of
abuse or who is at substantial risk of abuse.

2. A person who is suspected of abuse or neglect or who has
been determined to have abused or neglected a child or to have
abused an unborn child.

(i) “Tribal agent” means the person designated under 25 CFR
23.12 by an Indian tribe to receive notice of involuntary child cus-
tody proceedings under the federal Indian Child Welfare Act, 25
USC 1901 to 1963.

(2) PERSONS REQUIRED TO REPORT. (a) Any of the following
persons who has reasonable cause to suspect that a child seen by
the person in the course of professional duties has been abused or
neglected or who has reason to believe that a child seen by the per-
son in the course of professional duties has been threatened with
abuse or neglect and that abuse or neglect of the child will occur
shall, except as provided under subs. (2m) and (2r), report as pro-
vided in sub. (3):

1. A physician.

. A coroner.

. A medical examiner.
A nurse.

. A dentist.

A chiropractor.

. An optometrist.

. An acupuncturist.

9. A medical or mental health professional not otherwise
specified in this paragraph.

10. A social worker.

11. A marriage and family therapist.

12. A professional counselor.

13. A public assistance worker, including a financial and
employment planner, as defined in s. 49.141 (1) (d).

14. A school teacher.

15. A school administrator

16. A school counselor.

16m. A school employee not otherwise specified in this para-
graph.

17. A mediator under s. 767.405.

18. A child care worker in a child care center, group home,
or residential care center for children and youth.

19. A child care provider.

20. An alcohol or other drug abuse counselor.

21. A member of the treatment staff employed by or working
under contract with a county department under s. 46.23, 51.42, or
51.437 or a residential care center for children and youth.
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22. A physical therapist.

22m. A physical therapist assistant.

23. An occupational therapist.

24. A dietitian.

25. A speech—language pathologist.

26. An audiologist.

27. An emergency medical technician.

28. A first responder.

29. A police or law enforcement officer.

(b) A court—appointed special advocate who has reasonable
cause to suspect that a child seen in the course of activities under
s. 48.236 (3) has been abused or neglected or who has reason to
believe that a child seen in the course of those activities has been
threatened with abuse and neglect and that abuse or neglect of the
child will occur shall, except as provided in subs. (2m) and (2r),
report as provided in sub. (3).

(bm) 1. Except as provided in subd. 3. and subs. (2m) and (2r),
a member of the clergy shall report as provided in sub. (3) if the
member of the clergy has reasonable cause to suspect that a child
seen by the member of the clergy in the course of his or her profes-
sional duties:

a. Has been abused, as defined in s. 48.02 (1) (b) to (f); or

b. Has been threatened with abuse, as defined in s. 48.02 (1)
(b) to (f), and abuse of the child will likely occur.

2. Except as provided in subd. 3. and subs. (2m) and (2r), a
member of the clergy shall report as provided in sub. (3) if the
member of the clergy has reasonable cause, based on observations
made or information that he or she receives, to suspect that a mem-
ber of the clergy has done any of the following:

a. Abused a child, as defined in s. 48.02 (1) (b) to (f).

b. Threatened a child with abuse, as defined in s. 48.02 (1) (b)
to (f), and abuse of the child will likely occur.

3. A member of the clergy is not required to report child abuse
information under subd. 1. or 2. that he or she receives solely
through confidential communications made to him or her pri-
vately or in a confessional setting if he or she is authorized to hear
or is accustomed to hearing such communications and, under the
disciplines, tenets, or traditions of his or her religion, has a duty
or is expected to keep those communications secret. Those disci-
plines, tenets, or traditions need not be in writing.

(c) Any person not otherwise specified in par. (a), (b), or (bm),
including an attorney, who has reason to suspect that a child has
been abused or neglected or who has reason to believe that a child
has been threatened with abuse or neglect and that abuse or neglect
of the child will occur may report as provided in sub. (3).

(d) Any person, including an attorney, who has reason to sus-
pect that an unborn child has been abused or who has reason to
believe that an unborn child is at substantial risk of abuse may
report as provided in sub. (3).

(e) No person making a report under this subsection in good
faith may be discharged from employment, disciplined or other-
wise discriminated against in regard to employment, or threatened
with any such treatment for so doing.

(2m) EXCEPTION TO REPORTING REQUIREMENT; HEALTH CARE
SERVICES. (a) The purpose of this subsection is to allow children
to obtain confidential health care services.

(b) In this subsection:

1. “Health care provider” means a physician, as defined under
s.448.01 (5), a physician assistant, as defined under s. 448.01 (6),
or a nurse holding a certificate of registration under s. 441.06 (1)
or a license under s. 441.10 (3).

2. “Health care service” means family planning services, as
defined ins. 253.07 (1) (b), 1995 stats., pregnancy testing, obstet-
rical health care or screening, diagnosis and treatment for a sexu-
ally transmitted disease.

(c) Except as provided under pars. (d) and (e), the following
persons are not required to report as suspected or threatened

*2009-10 Wis. Stats. database current through 2011 Wis. Act 286, except 2011 Wis. Act 230. Includes all updates to statutes in
effect on or prior to May 4, 2012. Statutory changes effective on or prior to May 4, 2012 are printed as currently in effect. Changes
effective after May 4, 2012 are designated by NOTES. See Are the Statutes on this Website Official?
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abuse, as defined in s. 48.02 (1) (b), sexual intercourse or sexual
contact involving a child:

1. A health care provider who provides any health care ser-
vice to a child.

4. A person who obtains information about a child who is
receiving or has received health care services from a health care
provider.

(d) Any person described under par. (c) 1. or 4. shall report as
required under sub. (2) if he or she has reason to suspect any of the
following:

1. That the sexual intercourse or sexual contact occurred or
is likely to occur with a caregiver.

2. That the child suffered or suffers from a mental illness or
mental deficiency that rendered or renders the child temporarily
or permanently incapable of understanding or evaluating the con-
sequences of his or her actions.

3. That the child, because of his or her age or immaturity, was
or is incapable of understanding the nature or consequences of
sexual intercourse or sexual contact.

4. That the child was unconscious at the time of the act or for
any other reason was physically unable to communicate unwill-
ingness to engage in sexual intercourse or sexual contact.

5. That another participant in the sexual contact or sexual
intercourse was or is exploiting the child.

(e) In addition to the reporting requirements under par. (d), a
person described under par. (c) 1. or 4. shall report as required
under sub. (2) if he or she has any reasonable doubt as to the volun-
tariness of the child’s participation in the sexual contact or sexual
intercourse.

(2r) EXCEPTION TO REPORTING REQUIREMENT; PERSON DELE-
GATED PARENTAL POWERS. A person delegated care and custody of
a child under s. 48.979 is not required to report as provided in sub.
(3) any suspected or threatened abuse or neglect of the child as
required under sub. (2) (a), (b), or (bm) or (2m) (d) or (¢). Such
a person who has reason to suspect that the child has been abused
or neglected or who has reason to believe that the child has been
threatened with abuse or neglect and that abuse or neglect of the
child will occur may report as provided in sub. (3).

(3) REPORTS; INVESTIGATION. (a) Referral of report. 1. A per-
son required to report under sub. (2) shall immediately inform, by
telephone or personally, the county department or, in a county
having a population of 500,000 or more, the department or a
licensed child welfare agency under contract with the department
or the sheriff or city, village, or town police department of the facts
and circumstances contributing to a suspicion of child abuse or
neglect or of unborn child abuse or to a belief that abuse or neglect
will occur.

2. The sheriff or police department shall within 12 hours,
exclusive of Saturdays, Sundays, or legal holidays, refer to the
county department or, in a county having a population of 500,000
or more, the department or a licensed child welfare agency under
contract with the department all of the following types of cases
reported to the sheriff or police department:

a. Cases in which a caregiver is suspected of abuse or neglect
or of threatened abuse or neglect of a child.

b. Cases in which a caregiver is suspected of facilitating or
failing to take action to prevent the suspected or threatened abuse
or neglect of a child.

¢. Cases in which it cannot be determined who abused or
neglected or threatened to abuse or neglect a child.

d. Cases in which there is reason to suspect that an unborn
child has been abused or there is reason to believe that an unborn
child is at substantial risk of abuse.

2d. The sheriff or police department may refer to the county
department or, in a county having a population of 500,000 or
more, the department or a licensed child welfare agency under
contract with the department a case reported to the sheriff or police
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department in which a person who is not a caregiver is suspected
of abuse or of threatened abuse of a child.

2g. The county department, department, or licensed child
welfare agency may require that a subsequent report of a case
referred under subd. 2. or 2d. be made in writing.

3. Except as provided in sub. (3m), a county department, the
department, or a licensed child welfare agency under contract
with the department shall within 12 hours, exclusive of Saturdays,
Sundays, or legal holidays, refer to the sheriff or police depart-
ment all cases of suspected or threatened abuse, as defined in s.
48.02 (1) (b) to (f), reported to it. For cases of suspected or threat-
ened abuse, as defined in s. 48.02 (1) (a), (am), (g), or (gm), or
neglect, each county department, the department, and a licensed
child welfare agency under contract with the department shall
adopt a written policy specifying the kinds of reports it will rou-
tinely report to local law enforcement authorities.

4. If the report is of suspected or threatened abuse, as defined
in's. 48.02 (1) (b) to (f), the sheriff or police department and the
county department, department, or licensed child welfare agency
under contract with the department shall coordinate the planning
and execution of the investigation of the report.

(b) Duties of local law enforcement agencies. 1. Any person
reporting under this section may request an immediate investiga-
tion by the sheriff or police department if the person has reason to
suspect that the health or safety of a child or of an unborn child is
in immediate danger. Upon receiving such a request, the sheriff
or police department shall immediately investigate to determine
if there is reason to believe that the health or safety of the child or
unborn child is in immediate danger and take any necessary action
to protect the child or unborn child.

2. If the investigating officer has reason under s. 48.19 (1) (c)
or (cm) or (d) 5. or 8. to take a child into custody, the investigating
officer shall take the child into custody and deliver the child to the
intake worker under s. 48.20.

2m. If the investigating officer has reason under s. 48.193 (1)
(c) or (d) 2. to take the adult expectant mother of an unborn child
into custody, the investigating officer shall take the adult expec-
tant mother into custody and deliver the adult expectant mother to
the intake worker under s. 48.203.

3. If the sheriff or police department determines that criminal
action is necessary, the sheriff or police department shall refer the
case to the district attorney for criminal prosecution. Each sheriff
and police department shall adopt a written policy specifying the
kinds of reports of suspected or threatened abuse, as defined in s.
48.02 (1) (b) to (f), that the sheriff or police department will rou-
tinely refer to the district attorney for criminal prosecution.

(bm) Notice of report to Indian tribal agent. In a county that
has wholly or partially within its boundaries a federally recog-
nized Indian reservation or a bureau of Indian affairs service area
for the Ho—Chunk tribe, if a county department that receives a
report under par. (a) pertaining to a child or unborn child knows
or has reason to know that the child is an Indian child who resides
in the county or that the unborn child is an Indian unborn child
whose expectant mother resides in the county, the county depart-
ment shall provide notice, which shall consist only of the name
and address of the Indian child or expectant mother and the fact
that a report has been received about that Indian child or Indian
unborn child, within 24 hours to one of the following:

1. If the county department knows with which Indian tribe the
child is affiliated, or with which Indian tribe the Indian unborn
child, when born, may be eligible for affiliation, and the Indian
tribe is a Wisconsin Indian tribe, the tribal agent of that tribe.

2. If the county department does not know with which Indian
tribe the child is affiliated, or with which Indian tribe the Indian
unborn child, when born, may be eligible for affiliation, or the
child or expectant mother is not affiliated with a Wisconsin Indian
tribe, the tribal agent serving the reservation or Ho—Chunk service
area where the child or expectant mother resides.
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