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INDEMNITY & INSURANCE 
 

A. Contractor agrees to the fullest extent permitted by law, to indemnify, defend and hold 
harmless, the County, its officers and employees, from and against all loss or expense 
including costs and attorney's fees by reason of liability for damages including suits at 
law or in equity, caused by any wrongful, intentional, or negligent act or omission of the 
Contractor, or its (their) agents or Subcontractor(s) or Independent Service Providers, 
which may arise out of or are connected with the activities covered by this Agreement. 

 
B. Contractor agrees to evidence and maintain proof of financial responsibility to cover 

costs as may arise from claims of tort, malpractice, errors and omissions, statutes and 
benefits under Workers’ Compensation laws and/or vicarious liability arising from 
employees, board members and volunteers.  Such evidence shall include insurances 
covering Workers’ Compensation claims as required by the State of Wisconsin, 
Commercial General Liability and/or Business Owner’s Liability, Automobile Liability 
(if the Agency owns or leases any vehicles) and Professional Liability (where applicable) 
in the minimum amounts listed below.  Contractor must obtain all required coverage or 
confirm that applicable coverage has been obtained by County approved Independent 
Service Provider(s) or approved Subcontractor(s). 

 
C. Automobile insurance that meets the Minimum Limits as described in this Contract is 

required for all agency vehicles (owned, non-owned, and/or hired). In addition, if any 
employees or agents of Contractor will use personal vehicles for any purpose related to 
the provision of covered services under this Contract, or any other agreement with the 
DHHS, Contractor shall have Automobile Liability Insurance that meets the Minimum 
Limits for non-owned and/or hired autos as described in this Contract. 

 
Contractor hereby certifies that Contractor's Direct Service Providers who use personal 
vehicles for any purpose related to the provision of Covered Services have in effect 
insurance policies in companies licensed to do business in the State of Wisconsin 
providing protection against all liability, including public liability and property damage, 
arising out of the use of their automobiles during the course of their employment.  
Contractor further certifies that said Direct Service Providers have a Driver's License 
valid in the state of Wisconsin. 
 

D. If the services provided under the contract constitute professional services, Contractor 
shall maintain Professional Liability coverage as listed below. Treatment providers 
(including psychiatrists, psychologists, social workers) who provide treatment off 
premises must obtain General Liability coverage (on premises liability and off-premise 
liability), to which Milwaukee County is added as an additional insured, unless not 
otherwise obtainable. 

 
E.  It being further understood that failure to comply with insurance requirements may result 

in suspension: 
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TYPE OF COVERAGE    MINIMUM LIMITS 
Wisconsin Workers’ Compensation Statutory 
or Proof of all States Coverage 

Employer’s Liability $100,000/$500,000/$100,000 

Commercial General and/or 
Business Owner’s Liability 
Bodily Injury & Property Damage $1,000,000 - Per Occurrence 
(Incl. Personal Injury, Fire, Legal 
Contractual & Products/Completed $1,000,000 - General Aggregate 
Operations) 
 

Automobile Liability 
Bodily Injury & Property Damage $1,000,000 Per Accident 
All Autos - Owned, Non-Owned and/or  
Hired Uninsured Motorists Per Wisconsin Requirements 

 

Professional Liability       
To include Certified/Licensed Mental Health $1,000,000 Per Occurrence 
and AODA Clinics and Providers $3,000,000 Annual Aggregate 
and  
Hospital, Licensed Physician or any other As required by State Statute 
qualified healthcare provider under Sect 655      

 Wisconsin Patient Compensation Fund Statute 
   
Any non-qualified Provider under Sec 655  $1,000,000 Per Occurrence/Claim 
Wisconsin Patient Compensation Fund Statute $3,000,000 Annual Aggregate 
State of Wisconsin (indicate if Claims Made  
or Occurrence)  
 
Other Licensed Professionals $1,000,000 Per Occurrence 
 $1,000,000 Annual aggregate or 
 Statutory limits whichever is higher 

  
Should the statutory minimum limits change, it is agreed the minimum limits stated 
herein shall automatically change as well 

 
F. Milwaukee County, as its interests may appear, shall be named as, and receive copies of, 

an “additional insured” endorsement, for general liability, automobile insurance, and 
umbrella/excess insurance. Milwaukee County must be afforded a thirty day (30) written 
notice of cancellation, or a non-renewal disclosure must be made of any non-standard or 
restrictive additional insured endorsement, and any use of non-standard or restrictive 
additional insured endorsement will not be acceptable. 

 
Exceptions of compliance with “additional insured” endorsement are: 
1. Transport companies insured through the State “Assigned Risk Business” (ARB). 
2. Professional Liability where additional insured is not allowed. 
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G. A Waiver of Subrogation for Workers’ Compensation by endorsement in favor of 
Milwaukee County is also required. A copy of the endorsement shall be provided to 
DHHS. 

 
H. Contractor shall furnish Purchaser annually on or before the date of renewal, evidence of 

a Certificate indicating the above coverages (with the Milwaukee County Department of 
Health and Human Services named as the “Certificate Holder”) shall be submitted for 
review and approval by Purchaser throughout the duration of this Agreement.  If said 
Certificate of Insurance is issued by the insurance agent, it is Contractor’s responsibility 
to ensure that a copy is sent to the insurance company to ensure that the County is 
notified in the event of a lapse or cancellation of coverage. 

 
CERTIFICATE HOLDER 

Milwaukee County Department of Health and Human Services 
Contract Administrator  

1220 W. Vliet Street, Suite B26 
Milwaukee, WI  53205 

 
I. If Contractor’s Professional Liability insurance is underwritten on a Claims-Made basis, 

the Retroactive date shall be prior to or coincide with the date of this Agreement, the 
Certificate of Insurance shall state that professional malpractice or errors and omissions 
coverage, if the services being provided are professional services coverage is Claims-
Made and indicate the Retroactive Date, Contractor shall maintain coverage for the 
duration of this Agreement and for six (6) years following the completion of this 
Agreement. 

 
 It is also agreed that on Claims-Made policies, either Contractor or County may invoke 

the tail option on behalf of the other party and that the Extended Reporting Period 
premium shall be paid by Contractor. 

 
J. Binders are acceptable preliminarily during the provider application process to evidence 

compliance with the insurance requirements.   
 
K. All coverages shall be placed with an insurance company approved by the State of 

Wisconsin and rated “A” per Best’s Key Rating Guide.  Additional information as to 
policy form, retroactive date, discovery provisions and applicable retentions, shall be 
submitted to Purchaser, if requested, to obtain approval of insurance requirements. 

 
L. Any deviations, including use of purchasing groups, risk retention groups, etc., or 

requests for waiver from the above requirements shall be submitted in writing to the 
Milwaukee County Risk Manager for approval prior to the commencement of activities 
under this Agreement: 

 
Milwaukee County Risk Manager 

Milwaukee County Courthouse – Room 302 
901 North Ninth Street 
Milwaukee, WI  53233 


