Fair Housing


The Fair Housing Amendments Act of 1988 makes it unlawful to discriminate in the sale or rental of housing on the basis of race, color, religion, handicap, familial status (families with children), or national origin. Other acts have included, or inserted other protected classes (sex, age) to make the act more inclusive. The Fair Housing Act covers all real estate related transactions including the sale or rental of housing, insurance, appraisals, lending, redlining, blockbusting, and due to the civil rights issues hate related crimes. It is also unlawful to retaliate against a person who exercises their rights under the law, or any person who assists them in exercising their rights.     


It is Unlawful to Discriminate in Housing Based on these Factors:

  • Race
  • Color
  • National origin
  • Religion
  • Sex
  • Handicap (if you or someone close to you has a disability)
  • Familial status (families with children under the age of 18, or who are expecting a child)

The Metropolitan Milwaukee Fair Housing Council, which is supported by the Milwaukee County CDBG program, provides comprehensive services to residents of Milwaukee Countythe unincorporated areas of Urban Maricopa County in an effort to affirmatively further equal access to housing opportunities. Information about fair housing can be obtained by contacting MMFHC at (414) 278 - 1240.