Office of Emergency Management

Emergency Medical Services

Receiving Hospitals

MC-EMS partners with area hospitals with the ultimate goal of improving patient care prior to and after arrival at an Emergency Department. To ensure that every hospital we transport our patients to shares the same commitment to high quality patient care and continuous evidence-based quality improvement, we establish the terms of our EMS-Hospital partnership through a Receiving Hospital Agreement which stipulates that the hospital:
  • Meets the State of Wisconsin requirements for an Acute Care Hospital
  • Possess and maintain full accreditation with the Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations (JCAHO)
  • Provide 24-hour Emergency Department services with timely physician access for any and all patients transported by 911 paramedic ambulances
  • Maintain EMS system approved communication equipment to allow two-way exchange of information between prehospital and hospital personnel
  • Participate in the EMS system approved hospital diversion and disaster notification network
  • Cooperate with Institutional Review Board (IRB) approved and EMS Council endorsed research protocols and identify a contact person to facilitate study implementation
  • Participate in a timely manner in EMS system quality improvement programs
  • Comply in a timely manner with all data requests for billing and insurance purposes in accordance with all applicable state/federal regulations

Specialty Destinations

MC-EMS recognizes that not all patients are alike and that some conditions/circumstances require specialized services. To ensure that all patients are transported to the most appropriate facility, MC-EMS recognizes a number of Specialty Hospitals and directs our EMS providers to transport to these facilities when appropriate. These specialties are:

  • STEMI - ST Elevated Acute MI
  • ROSC - Return of Spontaneous Circulation
  • Burn Center
  • Trauma Center
  • CO – Carbon Monoxide poisoning
  • Hyperbaric
  • SA – Sexual Assault
  • Pediatric
  • NICU - Unstable Newborns
  • OB – Active Labor
  • Psychiatric Emergencies


MC-EMS Receving Hospitals & Specialty Designations


Receiving Hosptial
St. Luke's Milwaukee
St. Luke's South Shore
West Allis Memorial
Children's Hosptal of Wisconsin
CHW - Milwaukee
Columbia-St. Mary's
CSM - Milwaukee
CSM - Ozaukee
Froedtert Health
Community Memorial
ProHealth Care
Waukesha Memorial
Wheaton Franciscan Healthcare
All Saints - Racine
Elmbrook Memorial
St. Francis
St. Joseph
Wisconsin Heart Hospital
Zablocki VA Medcial Center
VA - Milwaukee
*Specialty Only Facility
Milwaukee County Psychiatric Crisis Service


This site is powered by the Northwoods Titan Content Management System