Domestic Partnership

DECLARATION OF DOMESTIC PARTNERSHIP 

To hear a voice recording, please call 414-278-4070

 

Haz clic aquí para español 

 

Domestic partnership applications are accepted at the Office of the Milwaukee County Clerk, Courthouse-Room 105, 901 North Ninth Street, from 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m., Monday through Friday.

 

Criteria for Forming a Domestic Partnership

Two individuals may form a domestic partnership if they meet all of the following criteria:

  • Each individual is at least 18 years old and capable of consenting to the domestic partnership.
  • Neither individual is married to or in a domestic partnership with another individual.
  • The two individuals share a common residence.
  • The two individuals are not nearer of kin to each other than second cousins.
  • The individuals are members of the same sex.

 

Domestic Partnership Application Requirements

  • The two individuals must apply together in person.
  • Each person must bring in a certified birth certificate.  A certified birth certificate is one that has been issued by a government agency.  Photo copies, "Certificates of Birth" issued by hospitals, and "Birth Registrations" are not acceptable.
    • Each person must show proof of identity and residency, with current address, in Milwaukee County.
    • Both individuals must bring in their Social Security cards.  The name on your Social Security card must be your legal name with any legal suffixes.
    • If either individual has had a previous marriage or domestic partnership, a filed copy of the final judgment of divorce, legal annulment, certificate of termination of domestic partnership, or certified death certificate must be shown at the time of application.

   

Any documents not in English must have attached to it a certified or notarized translation.  Both individuals must be able to speak and read English.  If not, the applicant(s) must provide a translator.  Neither individual can translate for each other.

 

Fee

The fee for a domestic partnership is $110.00 payable at the time of filing an application.  We accept cash and credit/debit cards.  Note: there is a convenience fee of 3% for all credit/debit card transactions.  Personal checks are not accepted.

 

Filing the Declaration of Domestic Partnership

In order to form the legal status of domestic partners, the individuals must complete the Declaration of Domestic Partnership, sign the declaration before a notary, and submit the declaration to the Register of Deeds, Milwaukee County Courthouse - Room 103.

 

Helpful Links

 

To view Wisconsin domestic partnership laws:

Wisconsin Statutes Chapter 770 - Domestic Partnership

 

To obtain Milwaukee County birth, death, or marriage records:

Milwaukee County Register of Deeds

 

To obtain out-of-state birth, death, marriage, or divorce records:

National Center for Health Statistics  

 

To obtain Wisconsin birth, death, marriage, or divorce records:

Wisconsin Vital Records Services

VitalChek (private provider)

 

Healthy baby information:

English

Spanish/Español

 

TERMINATING A DOMESTIC PARTNERSHIP

 

A domestic partner may terminate the domestic partnership by filing a completed Notice of Termination of Domestic Partnership form with the County Clerk who issued the Declaration of Domestic Partnership.  A certified copy of the Declaration of Domestic Partnership must be submitted at the time of application for termination along with a termination fee of $110.  We accept cash, credit, or debit cards.  There is a fee of 3% for all credit/debit card transactions.  Personal checks are not accepted.

 

The notice of termination must be signed by one or both domestic partners and notarized.  If the notice is signed by only one of the domestic partners, that individual must also file with the County Clerk an affidavit stating either of the following: 

  • The other domestic partner has been served in writing, as provided in Section 801.11 of the Wisconsin Statutes, that a Notice of Termination of Domestic Partnership is being filed with the County Clerk; or
  • The domestic partner seeking termination has been unable to locate the other domestic partner after making reasonable efforts and that notice to the other domestic partner has been made by publication of a notice in a newspaper of general circulation in the county of residence most recently shared by the domestic partners.

Upon receiving a completed, signed, and notarized Notice of Termination of Domestic Partnership, affidavit if required, and the fee of $110.00, the County Clerk will issue to the domestic partner filing the Notice of Termination a Certificate of Termination of Domestic Partnership.

 

The domestic partner must submit the Certificate of Termination of Domestic Partnership to the Register of Deeds.  The termination of a domestic partnership is effective 90 days after the Certificate of Termination of Domestic Partnership is recorded with the Register of Deeds.

 

If a party to a domestic partnership enters into a marriage that is recognized as valid in the State of Wisconsin, the domestic partnership is automatically terminated on the date of the marriage.

 

 

Información sobre parejas domésticas
 Para escuchar una grabación sobre como obtener una declaración de pareja doméstica, llame al 414-278-4070 
 
Se aceptan solicitudes para parejas domésticas en la oficina del County Clerk (Secretario del Condado), Sala 105, Tribunal, 901 North 9th Street, de lunes a viernes de las 8:00AM hasta las 4:00PM. 
 
LOS CRITERIOS PARA FORMAR UNA PAREJA DOMÉSTICA
Dos personas pueden constituir una pareja doméstica al cumplir con todos los criterios siguientes:
·    Ambos individuos tengan al menos 18 años y sean capaces de dar su consentimiento.
·    Ninguno de los dos ni esté casado ni esté en una pareja doméstica con otro individuo.
·    Los dos individuos compartan una misma residencia.
·    Los dos individuos no sean más prójimos que primos segundos.
·    Los dos individuos sean del mismo sexo.
 
PROCESO DE SOLICITACIÓN
Los dos individuos tienen que solicitar juntos, en persona. Cada persona tiene que traer una copia certificada de su licencia de nacimiento (no se aceptan certificados o formularios de registración de nacimiento).
 
Cada persona tiene que presentar pruebas de identidad y residencia (incluida la dirección actual) en el Condado de Milwaukee.
 
Cada individuo tiene que traer una tarjeta de Seguridad Social. El nombre que aparece en su tarjeta de Seguridad Social tiene que ser su nombre legal y debe incluir cualquier sufijo legal (Jr., etc.)
 
Si cualquier de los dos se haya casado o entrado en pareja doméstica anteriormente, al momento de solicitar se tiene que presentar una copia del fallo final de divorcio, anulación legal, certificado de finalización de la pareja doméstica o certificado autorizado de defunción.
 
El County Clerk (Secretario del condado) hará una declaración de pareja doméstica siete (7) días después de entregar la solicitud.
 
PRECIO
Se cobran $110.00 (sólo en efectivo) para contraer una pareja doméstica, lo cual se puede pagar al momento de entregar la solicitud.
 
ATENCIÓN
Cualquier documento que no sean en inglés tiene que ir acompañado por una traducción autorizada y/o certificada por un notario. Ambos los solicitantes tiene que saber hablar y leer inglés. Al caso contrario, será su responsabilidad proveer un traductor/intérprete.
 
PRESENTAR LA DECLARACIÓN DE PAREJA DOMÉSTICA
Para formar una pareja doméstica legal, los dos individuos tienen que llenar el formulario de declaración de pareja doméstica, firmar la declaración antes de un notario y entregar la declaración a la Oficina de Registro de Escrituras (Register of Deeds, Sala 103, Tribunal).
 
Enlaces Útiles
 
Healthy baby information:

Spanish/Español

 
TERMINACIÓN DE UNA PAREJA DOMÉSTICA
 
Un miembro de una pareja doméstica puede terminar la pareja doméstica al llenar y entregar un formulario de notificación para terminar la pareja doméstica al mismo County Clerk (Secretario del condado) que expidió la declaración de pareja doméstica.
 
Se cobran $110.00 (sólo en efectivo) para terminar una pareja doméstica en el Condado de Milwaukee. Se puede pagar al Secretario del Condado al momento de solicitar la terminación.
 
Se requiere que la notificación de terminación sea firmada por ambos miembros de la pareja doméstica y que sea certificada por un notario.
 
Si solo un miembro de la pareja doméstica firme la notificación, aquel individuo también tendrá que entregar una declaración jurada al County Clerk (Secretario del condado) constatando uno de los siguientes casos:
 
·         Que se haya informado al otro miembro de la pareja doméstica por escrito, según las provisiones de la Sección 801.11 de los Estatutos de Wisconsin, que se está solicitando un aviso de terminación de pareja doméstica al County Clerk (Secretario del condado), o;
·         Que el miembro de la pareja doméstica que quiere terminar no haya podido localizar al otro miembro de la pareja doméstica después de haber hecho esfuerzos razonables para hacerlo y que el aviso al otro miembro de la pareja doméstica haya sido hecho por medio de la publicación de un anuncio en un periódico de tirada general en el condado en residencia compartida más reciente.
Al recibir un aviso de terminación de pareja doméstica completamente llenado, firmado y certificado por un notario, así que el honorario de $110.00 si necesario, el County Clerk (Secretario del condado) le entregará un certificado de terminación de pareja doméstica al miembro de la pareja doméstica que haya solicitado el aviso de terminación.
 
La pareja tiene que presentar el certificado de terminación de pareja doméstica a la Oficina de Registro de Escrituras (Register of Deeds).
 
La terminación de pareja doméstica entrará en vigor 90 días después de que el certificado de pareja doméstica sea registrado en el Registro de Escrituras.
 
Si un miembro de una pareja doméstica contrate matrimonio reconocido como válido por el Estado de Wisconsin, se terminará automáticamente la pareja doméstica en el día del matrimonio.
 
Translation
The Milwaukee County Clerk’s website has made reasonable efforts to provide an accurate translation. However, the official text is the English version of the Milwaukee County Clerk’s website. If any questions arise concerning the accuracy of the information presented by the translated version of the website, please refer to the English edition of the website, which is the official version.
 
Traducción
El sitio Web del Condado de Milwaukee ha hecho un esfuerzo razonable para proporcionar una traducción fiel. Sin embargo, el texto oficial sigue siendo la versión en inglés. En caso de cualquier pregunta respecto a la fidelidad de la información presentada por la versión traducida del sitio, haga el favor de consultar la versión en inglés del sitio, la cual rige como versión oficial.

  

JOSEPH J. CZARNEZKI

Milwaukee County Clerk


Courthouse, Room 105

901 North Ninth Street

Milwaukee, WI 53233

  

Phone: 414-278-4067 

  

Email the County Clerk 

 

For parking information, please

please click here.

 

 

NOTICE:
The Office of the County
Clerk will be closed on
Thursday, November 27
and Friday, November 28
for the Thanksgiving Holiday.

 

This site is powered by the Northwoods Titan Content Management System